Journalists on the move – Week of April 16

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

Good Coverage Equals Goodwill: 6 Ways to Get It [Free Webinar]

Josh Weiss, president and founder of 10 to 1 Public Relations, wants to give away some secrets to earning goodwill-building coverage.

REGISTER NOW

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Boston Herald: promotes Bruce Castleberry (@bostonherald) to City Editor.

New York Times: hires Astead W. Herndon (@AsteadWesley) as National Politics Reporter, effective in May. Jeneen Interlandi (@JInterlandi) has been appointed an Editorial Board member and magazine Contributor. She will focus on health, science and education.

ProPublica: Julia Angwin (@JuliaAngwin) and Jeff Larson (@thejefflarson) have left.

Broadcasting

Fox Business Network: hires Edward Lawrence (@EdwardLawrence) as a general-assignment Reporter in DC.

Newsmax TV: hires Michael Clemente (@NewsmaxTV) as CEO.

Business and Commerce

Business Insider: hires Rachel Premack (@rrpre) as a Careers Reporter.

Crain’s Detroit Business: Ron Fournier (@ron_fournier) has left for a new role in PR.

Triad Business Journal: promotes Lloyd Whittington (@TriadBizLloyd) to Editor.

Twin Cities Business: appoints Allison Kaplan (@AliShops) as Editor-in-Chief.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Rolling Stone: hires John Hendrickson (@JohnGHendy) as Political News Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Stat News: Bob Tedeschi (@statnews) has left.

Politics, Government and Education

American Lawyer: hires Dan Packel (@PackelD) as a Business of Law Reporter. He’s based in Philadelphia.

Politico New York: hires Anna Gronewold (@annagronewold) as an Education Reporter, effective April 23.

Technology and Telecoms

Digiday: hires Kerry Flynn (@kerrymflynn) as a Social Media Reporter, effective April 16.

Travel, Transport and Logistics

Automotive News: hires Urvaksh Karkaria (@Urvaksh) as Atlanta Bureau Chief, effective May 1.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

i: Victoria Sanusi (@victoriasanusi) has been named Digital Culture Editor.

Sun, The: Simon Boyle (@simonboyle87) has been named Bizarre Editor. Andy Halls (@andybizarre) has been named Editor, Bizarre TV. Stuart Pink (@StuartPink) has been appointed Showbiz and Features Editor.

Sun Online, The: Akilah Russell (@akilahrussell) has been named Digital Consumer Reporter.

Telegraph Business: Ben Woods (@Ben_Woods01) has been appointed Senior Business Correspondent.

News and Media (Regional)

Evening Standard: Suzannah Ramsdale (@suzannahram) has been named Digital Lifestyle Editor.

Evening Times: Alan Ferguson (@AlanJFerguson) and Eddie Harbinson (@EddieHarbinson) have been appointed Local Democracy Reporters.

Metro.co.uk: Rishma Dosani (@rishma_dosani) has been named Entertainments Editor.

Sidmouth Herald: Stephen Sumner (@stephensumner15) has been appointed Local Democracy Reporter.

Sunday Business Post: Mary Regan (@MaryERegan) has been named Public Affairs Editor.

Sunday Mail: John Ferguson (@johncferguson) has been appointed Political Editor.

Tamworth Herald: Barrie Farnsworth (@tamworthherald) has left.

Broadcasting

5 News: Jessica Bulman (@newsdeskgirl) has been appointed Deputy Editor.

Smooth Scotland: Connor Gillies (@ConnorGillies) has been named News Editor.

Business and Commerce

City AM: Josh Mines (@josh_mines) has been named Reporter.

Money Marketing: Charlotte Richards (@CH_Richards) has been appointed Investment Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Natural Health: Claire Munnings (@natural_mag) has left.

Technology and Telecoms

Optical Connections: Peter Dykes (@PeterDykes42) has been named Editor.

Professional Engineering: Amit Katwala (@profeng) is point of contact for the title, which has recently been acquired by Think Publishing.

Travel, Transport and Logistics

BikeBiz: James Groves (@jamesgroves25) has been named Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.



Create and customize your own lists with Agility™

Our easy-to-use interface allows you to create your own lists from our vast database of nearly 800,000 journalists and bloggers. And with more than 5,000 updates - just like the ones above - made to our database every single day, you'll know that those lists are accurate and up-to-date.

Show me how Book a demo
Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Founded in 2003, MediaMiser quickly grew to become the preeminent media monitoring and analytics provider in Canada. After being acquired by Innodata Inc. in 2014, we accelerated growth and expanded our footprint by acquiring Bulldog Reporter, and the Agility™ business from PR Newswire.