fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of April 3

by | Apr 3, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Bloomberg BNA: hires Fatima Hussein (@fatimathefatima) as a Writer covering workplace safety topics.

Des Moines Register: Lynn Hicks (@LynnHicks) has left.

Philadelphia Inquirer: Suzette Parmley (@SuzParmley) has left.

Washington Post: hires Steve Thompson (@stevesthompson) as an Accountability Reporter on the Local Politics team. Dan Eggen (@DanEggenWPost) has been appointed Washington Editor.

Broadcasting

PBS NewsHour: hires Amna Nawaz (@Nawazistan) as a National Correspondent and substitute Anchor.

Business and Commerce

Barron’s: hires Matthew Klein (@M_C_Klein) as Economics Commentator.

Bloomberg News: moves Shahien Nasiripour (@nasiripour) to the Trump Organization beat.

Consumer Lifestyle

Bon Appétit: promotes Julia Kramer (@juliakramer) to Deputy Editor.

Men’s Health: hires Richard Dorment (@rdorment) as Editor-in-Chief, effective April 15.

New York Times Magazine: appoints Ronen Bergman (@ronenbergman) as a Staff Writer. He had been a contributor.

Vanity Fair: hires Kira Pollack (@KiraPollack) as Deputy Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Aegis Communications: has named Tiffany Stark (@Tiffancy27) as Brand Manager of Inside Dentistry. She’s now the best contact for PR pitches. Jason Mazda (@Indentaltech) is now Brand Manager of Inside Dental Technology (IDT) and is the best contact for that publication.

Politics, Government and Education

Atlantic, The: hires Kevin D. Williamson (@TheAtlantic) as a Columnist for Ideas, the new opinion section.

Inside Higher Ed: hires Greg Toppo (@gtoppo) as a Senior Editor.

Politico: hires Ben Schreckinger (@SchreckReports) as National Political Correspondent. It’s his second stint at Politico.

Technology and Telecoms

Wired: hires Lauren Goode (@LaurenGoode) as Senior Gear Writer, effective in early April. Her responsibilities will include a new video series.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Express: Owen Gough (@OwenGough) has been named Digital Reporter.

Daily Telegraph: Anna Mikhailova (@AVMikhailova) has been appointed Political Correspondent.

Independent: Josh Withey (@josh_withey) and Will Gore (@willgore) have been appointed Social Media Editor and Executive Editor respectively.

Mail on Sunday: Harriet Kean (@harrietkean93) has been named Features Writer.

Broadcasting

UTV Live: Deborah McAleese (@deborahmcaleese) has been named Broadcast Journalist.

Business and Commerce

GrowthBusiness.co.uk: Ben Lobel (@benlobel) has been named Editor.

Money Marketing: Stephen Little (@SteveLittle147) has been appointed Financial Journalist.

Moneywise: Helen Knapman (@helenknapman) has been promoted to Acting Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

StereoNET UK: has launched. The website focusses on news, reviews and information relating to hi-fi, home cinema, tech and gadgets. Jay Garrett (@StereoNETUK) is Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

The human resources and public relations departments are different sides of the same coin, but it’s rare that companies give them the space to work together. Without a quality work culture, employees will leave, talent will stay away, and your reputation will take a...

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

Technology has drastically changed the public relations field over the last several years. The rise of social media has given PR professionals new tools to reach and engage with their audiences. At the same time, new technologies have made it easier for journalists...