fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of January 15

by | Jan 15, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Atlantic, The: hires Elaina Plott (@elainaplott) as a Staff Writer covering Congress and national politics.

New York Times: promotes Gilbert Cruz (@gilbertcruz) to Culture Editor. Katie Rogers (@katierogers) is promoted to White House Correspondent.

Pittsburgh Business Times: promotes Jennifer Beahm (@PBT_Jen) to Editor-in-Chief.

Reuters: promotes Howard Goller (@hogotogo) to Head of the Americas Desk.

The Tennessean: Holly Fletcher (@hollyfletcher) has left.

Broadcasting

CBS News: appoints John Dickerson (@jdickerson) as a Co-Host of “CBS This Morning,” replacing Charlie Rose, who left.

NBC News: hires Howard Fineman (@howardfineman) as a Contributor on politics and other topics.

Business and Commerce

Bloomberg News: Scott Deveau (@scottdeveau) will move to New York later this year to cover the shareholder activism. He will continue to cover Canadian M&A and equity capital markets.

Forbes: Clare O’Connor (@Clare_OC) has left. She’s now Editorial Director at Bumble Media, a developer of a dating and social networking app. She will lead development of new editorial products.

Harvard Business Review: promotes Maureen Hoch (@maureenhoch) to Editor of HBR.org, replacing Katherine Bell (@katherineabell), who became Online Editor-in-Chief of Barron’s.

Consumer Lifestyle

Glamour: hires Samantha Barry (@samanthabarry) as Editor-in-Chief, replacing Cindi Leive, who left.

Hearst: appoints Chris Peel as Executive Director, Men’s & Enthusiast Media Group (@Hearst). He will oversee business operations for Esquire.com, MensHealth.com, PopularMechanics.com, Bicycling.com and RunnersWorld.com.

Hearst Magazines: hires Liz Plosser (@lizplosser) as Editor-in-Chief of Women’s Health, effective Jan. 22.

Meredith Corp.: plans a Jan. 16 launch for Hungry Girl, a food magazine tied to the popular Hungry Girl brand, which includes a TV show, cookbooks, newsletter and website. It’s led by Hungry Girl creator Lisa Lillien (@HungryGirl). Two issues are planned for 2018, with the possibility of continued quarterly publication. The second issue is slated for May.

Mother Earth News: hires Ms. Jordan Moslowski (@jmoslowski) as Online Content Generator.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Entertainment Weekly: promotes Bill Keith (@ipreferbill) to Deputy Editor, effective March 1.

New Yorker: appoints Helen Rosner (@hels) and Hannah Goldfield (@hannahgoldfield) as Contributing Food Writers.

Healthcare and Medicine

Healio.com: Editorial Director Stacey Adams has added oversight of Healio Psychiatry to her responsibilities. She also oversees Healio Rheumatology and “In the Journals Plus” sections on websites covering endocrinology, infectious diseases and hematology/oncology.

Pharmaceutical Commerce: (@PharmaCommerce) is reducing frequency from bimonthly to quarterly in 2018. Each issue will follow a theme: “Patient and Hub Services” in March; “Product Security” in June; “Cold Chain Logistics” in September; and “Sales Operations and Compliance” in November. News will continue run on the website.

Sports and Leisure

IGN: Steve Butts (@SteveButts) has left.

Travel, Transport and Logistics

Gear Patrol: hires Meg Lappe (@gearpatrol) as a Staff Writer for the “Outdoor & Fitness” channel.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Mirror: Rhian Luin (@rhianlubin) has been named Features Writer.

Daily Star Online: Christine Younan (@cyounan26) has been appointed Travel & Lifestyle Reporter.

Independent, The: Eleanor Busby (@Eleanor_Busby) has been appointed Education Correspondent.

Mail on Sunday Life: is a new standalone, pullout supplement featuring Contributors Chris Evans, Tom Parker-Bowles and Ellie Cannon. Keeba Roy (@the_keebster) and Gordon Thomson (@GordonJThomson) are points of contact.

Mirror Online: Shivali Best (@shivalibest) has been named Assistant Science & Tech Editor.

News and Media (Regional)

Camden New Journal: Helen Chapman (@helenchapman94) has been named Trainee Reporter.

Broadcasting

BBC Coventry & Warwickshire: Simon Gilbert (@thesimongilbert) has been named Political Reporter.

BBC News & Current Affairs: Richard Westcott (@BBCwestcott) has been appointed Science & Technology Reporter.

BBC Radio Sheffield: Kevin Larkin (@kevin_larkin) has been named Doncaster Reporter.

Consumer Lifestyle

Buzzfeed: Tom Chivers (@tomchivers) has left to freelance.

Dazed & Confused: Aimee Cliff (@aimeecliff) has been named Deputy Digital Editor.

FROW Magazine: Megan Davies (@frowmagazine) has been appointed Digital Editor.

Harper’s Bazaar: Jessica Davis (@BazaarUK) has been named Digital Editorial Assistant.

Reader’s Digest: Anna Walker (@readersdigest) and Eva Mackevic (@evamackevic) have been appointed Senior Editors.

Healthcare and Medicine

Top Sante Health & Beauty: Natalie Millman (@topsanteuk) has been appointed Acting Beauty Editor-at-Large.

Technology and Telecoms

Total Telecom Online: Chris Kelly (@Editor_Telecoms) has been appointed Editor.

Travel, Transport and Logistics

National Geographic Traveller: Amelia Duggan (@ameliaduggan) is available for freelance opportunities.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Understanding blockchain PR: What it is and why we need it

Understanding blockchain PR: What it is and why we need it

The world around us is changing by the minute. In fact, every time you take a breath, a single breath, millions of transactions are occurring in cyberspace. Until this point in time, most transactions were part of an organized system of central banks, owned by...

SEO vs. paid advertising—which one is better for you and why?

SEO vs. paid advertising—which one is better for you and why?

SEO vs. paid advertising—it's a debate that won't die anytime soon. People love to argue over this topic (strangely so) and will continue doing so even as I type these words. However, SEO and PPC (pay-per-click, or SEM) are extremely effective marketing channels, each...