fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of January 29

by | Jan 29, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Bloomberg: moves Rebecca Spalding (@rcurtisspalding) to the East Coast biotech beat. She is moving from Brooklyn to Boston this spring.

Daily Beast: hires Maxwell Tani (@maxwelltani) as a Media Reporter.

Fort Worth Star-Telegram: executive editor Lauren Gustus (@laurengustus) moves to Regional Editor for McClatchy’s California newspapers plus The Idaho Statesman in Boise. The California papers include The Sacramento Bee, The Modesto Bee and The Fresno Bee. She will work from Sacramento. This move is also effective in February. The Sacramento Bee executive editor Joyce Terhaar has left. She will be replaced by Scott Lebar (@slebar).

Fresno Bee: hires Joe Kieta (@josephkieta) as Editor replacing Jim Boren, who retired.

HuffPost: launches “Opinion” and “Personal” sections that replace the previous unpaid contributor platform. The Opinion section will include regular columnists and one-off contributions. The Personal section will consist of commissioned first-person essays by guest contributors, as well as pieces by staff reporters about “celebrities, newsmakers and ‘everyday’ individuals.” Chloe Angyal (@chloeangyal) is now Deputy Opinion editor. Emily McCombs (@msemilymccombs) is now Deputy Editor of “HuffPost Personal.”

Kansas City Star: editorial page editor Colleen McCain Nelson (@ColleenMNelson) is now McClatchy Opinion Editor, responsible for “elevating McClatchy’s opinion work nationwide.” She will remain in charge of the editorial board in Kansas City.

McClatchy: promotes Dallas Morning News managing editor Robyn Tomlin (@robyntomlin) to Regional Editor for the Carolinas and Executive Editor of The (Raleigh) News & Observer. As Executive Editor, she replaces John Drescher (@john_drescher), who moves to Opinion and Solutions Editor. As Regional Editor, she will coordinate newsroom operations among McClatchy newspapers in the Carolinas, which also include The Herald-Sun (Durham), The Charlotte Observer, The State (Columbia, S.C.), The Sun News (Myrtle Beach, S.C.), The Island Packet (Hilton Head, S.C.) and The Herald (Rock Hill, S.C.). She will spend about half her time leading the News & Observer and her remaining time as Regional Editor. The move, which takes effect in February, is part of a larger reorganization in which each McClatchy paper will have a local editor plus a regional editor coordinating among multiple newsrooms.

New York Daily News: appoints Jim Kirk (@kirkjim12) as Interim Editor-in-Chief, replacing Arthur Browne, who left.

New York Times: hires Matthew Phillips (@MatthewPhillips) as Financial Markets Reporter.

Reuters: hires Elyse Tanouye (@ElyseTanouye) as Global Industry Editor overseeing coverage of the pharmaceutical industry.

Wall Street Journal: hires David Pierce (@pierce) as a Personal Technology Columnist, effective Jan. 29. He’s based in San Francisco.

Washington Post: promotes Matea Gold (@mateagold) to Editor of the national politics enterprise and investigations team.

Broadcasting

ABC News: hires Emily Goodin (@Emilylgoodin) as a Political Reporter.

CBS News: promotes Mosheh Oinounou (@Mosheh) to Executive Producer of the “CBS Evening News.” He replaces Steve Capus.

NBC News Digital: hires Jason Abbruzzese (@JasonAbbruzzese) as Senior Tech Editor, effective Jan. 29.

PBS NewsHour: hires Yamiche Alcindor (@yamiche) as White House correspondent.

WMC-TV: hires Greg Phillips (@wmcactionnews5) as News Director, effective Feb. 12.

Business and Commerce

Barron’s: Michael Kahn has left.

Consumer Lifestyle

Good Housekeeping: Marci Robin Zitner (@marcirobin) has left. She has moved to Delray Beach, Florida and will be freelancing from there.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Financial Times: Sylvia Pfeifer (@sylviapfeifer) has been named Energy Correspondent.

Guardian, The: Pippa Crerar (@PippaCrerar) is now Deputy Political Editor.

I: Katie Grant (@kt_grant) has been appointed Consumer Reporter.

Mail on Sunday: Katie Hind (@katiehind) has been named Showbiz Editor.

Mirror Online: Jeff Parsons (@jparsons989) has been appointed Acting Science and Tech Editor.

Broadcasting

BBC News & Current Affairs: Hamish Mackay (@HamishMackay) has been named Broadcast Journalist.

Broadcast: Jessica Goodfellow (@goodflo) has been appointed Senior Reporter.

JOE.co.uk: Oli Dugmore (@OliDugmore) has been named Head of News & Politics.

Lorraine: Polly Bartlett (@polly_bartlett) has been appointed Researcher.

Sky News: John Sparks (@sparkomat) and Diana Magnay (@dimagnay) have been named Africa Correspondent and Moscow Correspondent respectively.

Wright Stuff, The: Lindsey Bowers (@LindseyCBowers) has been appointed Digital Producer.

Consumer Lifestyle

After Nyne: Samantha Simmonds (@Sam_Muses) is available for freelance opportunities.

Boots Health & Beauty Magazine: Rosie Benson (@rosiechloe) has joined as Features Writer.

Candid Magazine: Warren Pasi (@warrenpasi) has been named Contributing Editor.

Freelancer: Rebecca Hardin (@HendinArts) is available for commissions.

Hello!: Megan Conway (@hellomag) has been promoted to Lifestyle Editor.

Women’s Health: Saskia Quirke (@SaskiaQuirke) has been appointed Acting Fashion Director.

Healthcare and Medicine

Nursing Standard: Flavia Munn (@Flavers) has been named Acting News Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

SEO vs. paid advertising—which one is better for you and why?

SEO vs. paid advertising—which one is better for you and why?

SEO vs. paid advertising—it's a debate that won't die anytime soon. People love to argue over this topic (strangely so) and will continue doing so even as I type these words. However, SEO and PPC (pay-per-click, or SEM) are extremely effective marketing channels, each...