Journalists on the move – Week of January 8

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

Live Panel: How PR Is Set to Change in 2018

PRedictors Christopher Penn, Julie Murphy, and David Landis want to show you the way.

SAVE MY SEAT

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

BuzzFeed: Jennifer Kingson (@jenniferkingson) and Matthew Zeitlin (@MattZeitlin) have left. San Francisco Bureau Chief Mat Honan (@mat) will oversee a unified Tech and Business desk in addition to science coverage.

Reuters: promotes Jonathan Weber (@WeberWest) to Global Industry Editor (Technology). He will move from San Francisco to Singapore in early April.

San Francisco Chronicle: Thomas Lee (@ByTomLee) has left.

Talking New Media: has ceased publication.

Vox: hires Ben Pauker (@benpauker) as Managing Editor (News).

Washington Examiner: hires James Langford (@JAYELANG) as Business Editor.

Washington Post: hires Christina Passariello (@cpassariello) as Technology Editor, effective Jan. 16. She’s based in the San Francisco area. Ms. Tracy Grant is promoted to Managing Editor for staff development and standards.

Broadcasting

CBS News: Steve Chaggaris (@CBSNews) has left.

NPR: hires Tim Mak (@timkmak) as a Reporter covering Russia and the “conservative movement in the context of the 2018 elections.” He begins Jan. 8.

Business and Commerce

Bloomberg: appoints Joel Weber (@joelwebershow) as Editor-in-Chief of Bloomberg Businessweek, replacing Megan Murphy, who is leaving.

Central Valley Business Times (Stockton, Calif.): is ceasing online publication and instead will become a daily subscription-based email newsletter.

Consumer Lifestyle

Atlanta Magazine: hires Mara Shalhoup (@mshalhoup) as Deputy Editor.

Family Office Networks: is set to launch FON Magazine, a quarterly luxury lifestyle magazine that will be sent to the company’s database of more than 40,000 high income individuals and their advisers. The first issue will have a January/February cover date. Topics will include art, cars, wine, aviation, yachting, watches & jewellery, travel, philanthropy and investing.

Los Angeles Magazine: hires Gwynedd Stuart (@gwynnstu) as Digital Managing Editor.

Penske Media Corp.: has acquired a majority stake in Wenner Media and Rolling Stone. Penske’s other media properties include Women’s Wear Daily, Variety, Deadline.com, Hollywood Life and Robb Report.

Town & Country: hires Erik Maza (@erikmaza) as Style Features Director, replacing Whitney Robinson, who became Editor-in-Chief of Elle Décor.

Politics, Government and Education

Government Executive Media Group: hires Aaron Boyd (@Federal_IT) as Senior Editor of technology and events for NextGov, which covers federal technology news.

Politico: hires Ms. Mohana Ravindranath (@ravindranize) as an eHealth Reporter for Politico Pro.

 

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Financial Times: Laura Pitel (@laurapitel) has been appointed Turkey Correspondent. Laura Hughes (@Laura_K_Hughes) has been named Political Correspondent. Ian Smith (@ianksmith) is now Commissioning Editor at FT Special Reports.

Guardian, The: Lily Kuo, Andrew Roth and Shaun Walker (@ shaunwalker7) have been appointed Beijing Bureau Chief, Moscow Bureau Chief and Central & Eastern Europe Correspondent respectively.

Sun, The: Nick Gutteridge (@nick_gutteridge) has been named Brussels Reporter. Sean Keach (@seankeach) has joined the online team as Digital Tech and Science Editor.

Sunday Times, The: Rosamund Urwin (@RosamundUrwin) joins in February as a Financial Services Correspondent. Louis Wise has left to freelance but will contribute to their arts/culture section.

News and Media (Regional)

Business, The: has been launched by the team behind the South Wales Argus. Jo Barnes (@journojb) is point of contact.

Lewisham Ledger, The: has been launched by team behind the Peckham Peculiar (@lewishamledger).

Broadcasting

Bauer City 1: Owen Ryan has been appointed Group Content Director. Gary Stein (@garystein) and Chris Pegg (@chrispegg68) have been appointed Group Programming Director and Regional Content Director respectively across Bauer City Network.

BBC: George Greenwood (@GeorgeGreenwood) has been named Investigations Producer for BBC London News. Francesca Unsworth (@franunsworth) has been appointed Director of News and Current Affairs at the BBC. John Cundy (@johncundy) has retired from his role at BBC Yorkshire.

Channel 4: Ian Katz (@iankatz1000) is now Director of Programmes.

ITV News: Rachel Corp (@rachelcorptweet) has been named Deputy Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Business of Fashion, The: Grace Cook has left to freelance.

Esquire: Teo van den Broeke (@teovandenbroeke) joins GQ as Style and Grooming Director.

New!: Katy Gale (@new_magazine) has been named Fashion and Beauty Assistant.

Pool, The: Frankie Graddon (@FrankieGrad) has been promoted to Head of Fashion and Beauty.

Powder: Hannah Coates has joined Grazia (@GraziaUK) as Beauty Editor.

Pub & Bar: Rosanna Spence (@RosannaSpence0) has been appointed Deputy Editor.

Smallish: Fiona Cowood (@fionacowood) has been named Senior Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

Pocket-lint.com: Dan Grabhan (@dangrabham) has been named Associate Editor.

WIRED: Oliver Franklin-Wallis (@olifranklin) has been appointed Contributing Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.




Create and customize your own lists with Agility™

Our easy-to-use interface allows you to create your own lists from our vast database of nearly 800,000 journalists and bloggers. And with more than 5,000 updates - just like the ones above - made to our database every single day, you'll know that those lists are accurate and up-to-date.

Show me how Book a demo
Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Founded in 2003, MediaMiser quickly grew to become the preeminent media monitoring and analytics provider in Canada. After being acquired by Innodata Inc. in 2014, we accelerated growth and expanded our footprint by acquiring Bulldog Reporter, and the Agility™ business from PR Newswire.


Discussion

Comments are closed.