fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of November 20

by | Nov 20, 2017 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Bloomberg News: Katia Dmitrieva (@katiadmi) has moved to the economics team in D.C.

LA Weekly: hires Brian Calle (@briancalle) as Editor.

New York Times: Jesse Pesta (@JessePesta) is now Deputy Editor of the Climate Desk.

Onion Inc., The: launches The Takeout, a non-satirical website covering food “through the lens of pop culture and Americana.” Staffers include Editor-in-Chief Kevin Pang (@pang), Managing Editor Jen Sabella (@jensabella) and Staff Writer Kate Bernot (@kbernot). The site is based in Chicago.

Wall Street Journal: promotes Adam Horvath (@azhorvath) to Senior Editor of “Review,” the paper’s weekend “ideas” section.

Washington Post: promotes Peter Wallsten (@peterwallsten) to Senior Politics Editor. Erica Werner (@ericawerner) joins as Congressional Economic Policy Correspondent.

Broadcasting

Bloomberg Television: David Gura (@BloombergTV) has left.

Vox Media: hires Sean Rameswaram (@rameswaram) as Host of a “daily news explainer” podcast set to launch early next year. He will be based in DC.

Business and Commerce

Barron’s: senior editors Robin Blumenthal and Jack Willoughby (@barronsonline) have left.

Charlotte Business Journal: Hilary Burns (@CBJburns) has left to pursue a freelance career.

Crain’s New York Business: editor Jeremy Smerd (@smerd) has left.

Denver Business Journal: Neil Westergaard (@NeilWestDenBiz) will retire early in 2018.

Construction, Real Estate and Manufacturing

Curbed NY: Zoe Rosenberg (@zoe_rosenberg) has left.

Consumer Lifestyle

Bauer Media Group: hires James Heidenry (@bauermedia) as Editorial Director. He will oversee the Entertainment Group, which includes In Touch, Life & Style and Closer Weekly.

PeopleStyle: has ceased print publication. It will remain as a section in People under the oversight of Style and Beauty Director Andrea Lavinthal (@andilavs).

Healthcare and Medicine

Health: food director Beth Lipton (@CookiePie0402) has left.

Sports and Leisure

OC Weekly: editor Gustavo Arellano (@GustavoArellano) has left.

Active Interest Media: promotes Yoga Journal’s Tasha Eichenseher (@yoga_journal) to Co-Brand Director. The other Brand Director is Greg Brenton, who was previously the brand’s executive director, marketing and creative services.

 

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Express Online: Joe Barnes (@daily_express) has been appointed Deputy Video Editor.

Femail: Kerry McDermott (@kerrynmcdermott) has been named Acting Editor.

I: Daisy Wyatt (@daisy_wyatt) has been appointed Acting Digital News Editor.

Mirror Sport: Jon Livesey (@JonLiveseyDM) has been named Associate Editor, Sport.

News and Media (Regional)

Eastern Daily Press: Jacob Massey (@EDP24) has been appointed Reporter.

Mercury Press and Media: Harriet Whitehead (@Harriet_Mercury) has been named Reporter.

Broadcasting

CNBC Europe: Natasha Turak (@NatashaTurak) has been appointed Markets Correspondent.

Newsnight: Jess Brammar (@BBCNewsnight) and Daniel Clarke have been appointed Acting Editors. Lizzi Watson has been named Executive Producer.

Consumer Lifestyle

Blackhair: is now online only (@Blackhairmags), having ceased the print edition.

Closer: Anna Tabrah (@anna_tabs) has been appointed Senior News Writer.

Glamour: Deborah Joseph (@GlamourMagUK) has been appointed Chief Content Officer.

Red: Alisha Motion (@RedMagDaily) has been promoted to Fashion Editor.

Wallpaper: Nick Compton (@wallpapermag) has been appointed Acting Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

Macworld UK: A series of promotions have been made across Macworld UK and TechAdvisor UK. Dominic Preston (@dompreston) is now Senior Staff Writer. Marie Black (@MarieLouBlack) has been named Group Editor. Chris Martin (@mrcjmartin) is now Reviews Editor. Henry Burrell (@hrburrell) has been promoted to Deputy Reviews Editor. Lewis Painter (@lewwypaints) is now Games Editor and Ashleigh Macro (@AshleighMacro) has been named Ecommerce Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

3 ways you can improve the brand affinity of your company

3 ways you can improve the brand affinity of your company

Brand affinity refers to the solid emotional connection that customers have with your brand. This often depends on factors like your brand message, quality of service or products, and the intentionality you show towards making sure your customers are satisfied....

Understanding blockchain PR: What it is and why we need it

Understanding blockchain PR: What it is and why we need it

The world around us is changing by the minute. In fact, every time you take a breath, a single breath, millions of transactions are occurring in cyberspace. Until this point in time, most transactions were part of an organized system of central banks, owned by...