fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of September 11

by | Sep 18, 2017 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Associated Press: hires Tom LoBianco (@tomlobianco) as Politics Reporter. He will report on the Trump-Russia investigation with a focus on the White House.

Charlotte Observer: John Arwood (@johnarwood) has left for a communications job with Corning Optical.

Financial Times: promotes Lyndsey Jones (@Lyndsey129) to Executive Editor. Paul Murphy is now Investigations Editor. Pilita Clark (@pilitaclark) has been named Associate Editor. She will write a weekly column on corporate life.

New York Times: hires Jim Tankersley (@jimtankersley) as a Tax and Economics Reporter. Jia Lynn Yang (@jialynnyang) joins as Deputy National Editor, effective in October. Thomas Gibbons-Neff (@Tmgneff) joins on Oct. 2 as Pentagon Correspondent.

San Diego Union-Tribune: Dan McSwain retires.

Time: promotes Edward Felsenthal (@efelsenthal) to Editor-in-Chief, replacing Nancy Gibbs, who is leaving.

USA Today hires Wendy Benjaminson (@wbenjaminson) as Managing Editor for government and politics. She replaces Lee Horwich (@lhorwich), who is now Managing Editor for national enterprise.

Washington Post: appoints Scott Wilson (@PostScottWilson) to a new position as Senior National Correspondent covering California and other parts of the western U.S. Jordan Frasier (@jordanjfrasier) joins as a Video Journalist focusing on national politics. Alisa Tang (@alisatang) joins as an Overnight Home Page Editor.

Broadcasting

Foxnews.com: hires Brian Flood (@briansflood) as Media Reporter.

KGTV-TV (San Diego): hires Ed Chapuis (@edchapuis) as News Director.

Business and Commerce

Birmingham Business Journal: hires Angel Coker (@ACoker_TNews) as a Reporter covering banking and legal topics.

Denver Business Journal: Boots Gifford (@denbizjournal) has left.

Green Market Report: launches as a website covering the financial aspects of the cannabis industry. Debra Borchardt (@WallandBroad) is Editor-in-Chief and Co-Founder.

Reuters Breakingviews: promotes John Foley (@johnsfoley) to U.S. Editor, effective in October. He replaces Jeffrey Goldfarb (@jgfarb), who will become a Deputy Editor overseeing coverage in Asia.

Consumer Lifestyle

Atlanta Magazine: promotes Betsy Riley (@betsybriley) to Editor-in-Chief, replacing Steve Fennessy (@stevefennessy), who became Executive Editor.

Elle: hires Nina Garcia (@ninagarcia) as Editor-in-Chief, replacing Robbie Myers, who left.

Fatherly: hires Tyghe Trimble (@tyghe) as Branded Editorial Director. He previously oversaw Men’s Journal’s health coverage.

Glamour: editor-in-chief Cindi Leive (@cindi_leive) leaves, effective at the end of the year.

Nylon: magazine ceases print publication, effective with the October issue. Print staffers will leave. The website will remain (@NylonMag).

Oreva Capital: acquires Here Publishing, owner of LGBT editorial brands Out, The Advocate and Plus. As part of the deal, Here Publishing will be rebranded as Pride Media Inc. Oreva Capital recently acquired the parent company of High Times, which will become a publicly traded company through a merger deal with Origo Acquisition Corporation.

Vogue: promotes Taylor Antrim (@taylorantrim) to Executive Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Wirecutter: and sister site The Sweethome will merge into a single redesigned site, Wirecutter, effective in October. Both sites include coverage of health and wellness products.

Technology and Telecoms

Verge, The: promotes Shannon Liao (@shannon_liao) to News Writer.

 

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (Regional)

Lincolnshire Echo: Melanie West (@Reportermel) has left.

Plymouth Herald: Heather Ness (@TIPParent) has been named Sports Columnist.

South Wales Evening Post: Rob Dalling (@RobertDalling) has been appointed Senior Reporter.

Stroud News & Journal: John Wilson (@johnwilsonWN) has been named Editor.

Swindon Advertiser: Sarah Singleton (@Adver_Sarah) has been appointed Feature Writer.

Worcester News: Michael Purton (@MichaelPurton) has been named Divisional Deputy Editor.

Broadcasting

BBC London George Greenwood (@GeorgeGreenwood) has been appointed Online Reporter.

Good Morning Britain Joe Michalczuk (@joemichalczuk) has been named Entertainment Editor.

Newstalk Ciara Courtney (@CiaraTCourtney) has been appointed Researcher.

Consumer Lifestyle

Grazia: Phoebe McDowell (@GraziaUK) has left.

Shout Magazine: Ali Henderson (@oolalipstick) has left.

Wallpaper: Sarah Douglas (@wallpapermag) has been promoted to Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Freelancer: Francesca Specter (@ChezSpecter) is available for commissions.

Technology and Telecoms

Kotaku UK: Keza Macdonald (@kezamacdonald) has been named Editor.

PC Gamer: Steven Messner (@stevenmessner) has been appointed Senior Reporter.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

The human resources and public relations departments are different sides of the same coin, but it’s rare that companies give them the space to work together. Without a quality work culture, employees will leave, talent will stay away, and your reputation will take a...

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

Technology has drastically changed the public relations field over the last several years. The rise of social media has given PR professionals new tools to reach and engage with their audiences. At the same time, new technologies have made it easier for journalists...