Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Financial Times: moves Hannah Kuchler (@hannahkuchler) to a new beat covering biotech, healthcare and pharmaceuticals in the U.S. She’s based in San Francisco.

Las Vegas Sun: hires Bryan Horwath (@ICTBiz_BHorwath) as a Reporter covering gaming and business.

Los Angeles Times: hires Emily Baumgaertner (@emily_baum) as a Health and Science Reporter.

New York Times: hires Ben Dooley (@BenjaminDooley) as Japan Business Correspondent. New York Times moves Binyamin Appelbaum (@BCAppelbaum) to the Editorial Board. He will be the lead Editorial Writer on business and economics. He’s based in D.C.

Orlando Sentinel: promotes Roger Simmons (@RogerSimmons) to Managing Editor.

Wall Street Journal: John Wordock (@JohnWordock) leaves to become Executive Editor of podcasting for radio producer Westwood One.

Washington Business Journal: hires Jonathan Capriel (@WBJonline) as a Reporter covering Amazon’s expansion to the D.C. area.

Washington Post: hires Reed Albergotti (@ReedAlbergotti) as a Consumer Electronics Reporter in San Francisco. He begins March 11.

Broadcasting

CBS News: promotes Kimberly Godwin (@KimGodwinTV) to Executive VP of News.

CNBC: hires Dan Colarusso (@Colarusso42) as Senior VP of Business News, effective in March. He will oversee TV news content.

CNN Politics: hires Jessica Estepa (@jmestepa) as Campaign Editor.

WNYC: hires Andrew Golis (@agolis) as Chief Content Officer.

Healthcare and Medicine

Chiropractic Economics: hires Rick Vach (@chiroecomag) as Editor-in-Chief.

Kaiser Health News: hires Kytja Weir (@kytja) as National Editor. She will oversee regional bureaus.

Technology and Telecoms

CNET News: moves Ian Sherr (@iansherr) to Editor-at-Large.

Tech Crunch: launches Extra Crunch, a $15-per-month premium subscription service covering “nuts and bolts issues that confront founders, entrepreneurs, analysts and tech workers.” Topics include hiring and legal issues as well as mental health and wellness in “high-performance environments.” Executive Editor Danny Crichton (@DannyCrichton) and Managing Editor Eric Eldon (@eldon) will oversee coverage.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

FT Life & Arts: Horatia Harrod (@horatiaharrod) has been named Associate Editor.

Sunday Express: David Williamson (@dp_williamson) has joined as Deputy Political Editor.

News and Media (Regional)

Penarth Times: Joe Hoppe (@JoeFHoppe) has been named Reporter.

Sentinel, The: Joe Burn (@Journojoeburn) has joined as Local Democracy Reporter.

Business and Commerce

GlobalCapital: Jasper Cox (@jasper_cox) has been appointed People and Markets Deputy Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

AnOther Magazine: Ted Stansfield (@ted_stansfield) has been promoted to Digital Editor.

ES Magazine: Jessica Benjamin (@jessbenja) has been named Social Media Editor.

GQ: Olive Pometsey (@olivepometsey) has been appointed Junior Digital Editor.

Irish Tatler: Ellie Balfe (@elliebalfe) has been named Editorial Director.

Square Meal – Restaurant Guide: Caroline Bradley (@SquareMeal) has been appointed Head of Content.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Lawyer, The: Amar Mehta (@amarmehta94) has been named Litigation Reporter. Amar joins on March 11.

Politics, Government and Education

Inside Housing: Martin Hilditch (@martinhilditch) has been appointed Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

How to use location targeting to get the most out of marketing

Recently, Burger King launched a bold new marketing campaign. Using geo-targeting on nearby users’ devices, the fast food chain encouraged users to stop by and check in at a nearby McDonald’s in order to qualify for a free sandwich from...Burger King. This campaign...

PR software spend booms in 2018—what’s driving this growth?

To the delight of PR service providers—and indicative of their increasing value to the public relations industry—spend on media intelligence software and information solutions by PR pros surged to over $4.1 billion in 2018, according to a new report from Burton-Taylor...