Journalists on the move – Week of June 15

by | Jun 15, 2020 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

San Francisco Chronicle: Yolanda Martinez (@yoli_martinez) has been named Newsroom Developer.

Winnipeg Free Press: Temur Durrani (@temurdur) has joined as a Reporter covering the economic impact of the pandemic.

Broadcasting

CTV News: Anne Gaviola (@annegaviola) has re-joined the network at BNN Bloomberg as a Multiplatform Reporter covering business news, stocks, bonds and fintech.

iHeartMedia Indianapolis: (@iheartmedia) is partnering with Bloomberg Radio (@BloombergRadio) to launch Business News 97.5 FM (@businessnews975) and will cover areas including economics, politics and investment banking.

Business and Commerce

Bank Director: Jack Milligan (@bankdirectored) has been promoted to Editor-at-Large.

Wall Street Journal: Gerard Baker (@gerardtbaker) takes on a new role on the WSJ’s opinion page.

Wall Street Journal: Rachel Feintzeig (@rachelfeintzeig) has been named Work & Life columnist.

Healthcare and Medicine

Modern Healthcare: Ginger Christ (@gchristcle) has been appointed Post-Acute Care and Staffing Reporter.

Politics, Government and Education

Politico: Ryan Hutchins (@ryanhutchins) has been promoted to Deputy Editor for states and Canada.

Technology and Telecoms

Information, The: Mark di Stefano (@markdistef) and Paris Martineau (@parismartineau) have been appointed Reporters.

InsideHPC Media: Doug Black (@DougBlack1) has been named Editor-in-Chief.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (Regional)

Edinburgh Evening News: Noa Hoffman (@hoffman_noa) has been named Local Democracy Reporter.

Evening Standard: Emily Sheffield (@emilysheffield) has been appointed Editor, starting on July 1. George Osborne (@George_Osborne) moves to the role of Editor-in-Chief.

Broadcasting

BBC Radio 1: Aled Haydn Jones (@AHJ) has been appointed Head of BBC Radio 1.

Tech Edit, The: Maghan McDowell (@maghanmcd) has been named Host for the recently launched podcast.

Consumer Lifestyle

Freelancer: Amber Graafland (@AmberGraafland) is available for commissions, with an interest in beauty, cosmetics, fashion and women’s interest. She was previously Fashion and Lifestyle Director at Reach Plc.

Freelancer: Zara Zubeidi (@zarazubeidi) is available for commissions, covering celebrity, entertainment, lifestyle, showbusiness, the Royals and the television industry.

Planet Mindful: Holly Johnson (@hollywriter) has been named Acting Editor.

Style Cartel: Amira Arasteh (@Amira58) has been named Fashion & Lifestyle Editor.

Tatler: Charlie Miller (@charliemjmiller) has been appointed Jewellery Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Aesthetic Medicine: Georgia Seago (@AestheticMLive) has been named Editor.

Sports and Leisure

Scorecard: Murad Ahmed (@muradahmed) is point of contact for the newly launched newsletter from the Financial Times.

Technology and Telecoms

Freelancer: Saleha Riaz (@salehariaz) is available for commissions, covering business and technology.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Targeting the right publications to maximize your links

Targeting the right publications to maximize your links

While some agencies might rely on large-scale mail merges and bulk outreach to secure backlinks, placing content with journalists has to be more than a numbers game if you want to be able to meet higher KPIs and faster turnaround. Brute force, after all, can only go...

Is WFH productivity becoming an issue? Most employees say yes.

Is WFH productivity becoming an issue? Most employees say yes.

Remote work is a big part of the “new normal,” at least for now, but productivity is becoming an issue for employees working from home, according to new research from business news and how-to website The Manifest, which finds that only 3 in 10 employees say they’re...