Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Charlotte Observer: Rick Rothacker (@theobserver) has left for a comms position with Bank of America.

Daily Beast: hires Bethany Allen-Ebrahimian (@BethanyAllenEbr) as a National Security Reporter.

Denver Post: Tamara Chuang (@denverpost) has left.

Des Moines Register: promotes Brianne Pfannenstiel (@brianneDMR) to Chief Politics Reporter.

Logic, The: (https://thelogic.co/) launches as a news outlet covering the innovation economy in Canada. David Skok (@dskok) is the CEO and Editor-in-Chief.

Los Angeles Times: Ann M. Simmons (@latimes) has left.

McClatchy: appoints Tim Regan-Porter (@timreganporter) as South Region Editor.

New York Times: hires Erin Griffith (@eringriffith) as a Business Reporter covering start-ups and venture capital. She’s based in San Francisco.

Seattle Times: hires Joy Resmovits (@Joy_Resmovits) as Editor of Education Lab, a section that covers “promising approaches to persistent challenges in public education.” She begins in July.

Wall Street Journal: moves Cara Lombardo (@CaraRLombardo) to the shareholder activism beat.

Washington Post: hires Felicia Sonmez (@feliciasonmez) as a Reporter on the politics breaking news team.

Broadcasting

Hearst Television: hires Mark Albert (@malbertnews) as Chief National Investigative Correspondent in D.C. His reports will run on the company’s 26 TV stations.

KPNX-TV: hires Mike Gonzalez (@mikekappkvew) as Weekend Anchor and Reporter.

Business and Commerce

Axios: moves Shannon Vavra (@shanvav) to the cybersecurity beat.

Business Insider: hires Sam Fellman (@samfellman) as Military and Defence Editor.

Denver Business Journal: hires Kourtney Geers (@kourtneygeers) as Managing Editor.

San Diego Business Journal: hires Barbara Chodos (@SDbusiness) as President and Publisher.

Consumer Lifestyle

Esquire: hires Ryan Lizza (@RyanLizza) as Chief Political Correspondent.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Vice Media: hires Amy Rose Spiegel (@AmyRosary) as a Senior Editor for Broadly, its website for millennial women.

Healthcare and Medicine

Drug Store News: Michael Johnsen (@DSN_MikeJohnsen) has left and is now freelancing.

WebMD Health Corp.: (@WebMD) acquired Jobson Healthcare Information, publisher of Review of Optometry, Review of Ophthalmology, U.S. Pharmacist and 20/20. Jobson will operate as an independent subsidiary.

Politics, Government and Education

Politico: hires Sarah Owermohle (@owermohle) as Pharma/Biotech Reporter.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Telegraph: Camilla Tominey (@CamillaTominey) has been appointed Associate Editor.

I: Ruchira Sharma (@ruchosharma) has been appointed Staff Writer.

News and Media (Regional)

Irish Independent: Gavin McLoughlin (@gavmcloughlin) has been appointed Business News Editor.

Metro.co.uk: Harriet Williamson (@harriepw) has been named Lifestyle Reporter.

SWNS: Adam Theofilatos (@adamtheofilatos) has been appointed Reporter.

Broadcasting

Sky News: Bethany Minelle (@BethanyMinelle) has been named Entertainment Reporter on the Mobile team.

Consumer Lifestyle

Frow Magazine: Katia Damborksy (@katiadamborsky) has been named Junior Beauty Writer.

Good Housekeeping: Emma Franklin (@FoodieEmma) has been appointed Cookery Editor.

Look.co.uk: Laura-Jane Turner (@ljaneturner) has left.

Ok.co.uk: Catherine Earp (@catherineearp) has left.

Woman: Kira Agass (@KiraAgass) has been appointed Features Brand Director across Woman, Woman’s Own, Now Magazine and Woman’s Weekly.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

5 ways business communicators can use technology to their advantage

Staying current with the latest business trends available is not merely helpful—it’s essential to the longevity of your business. Only 12 percent of Fortune 500 companies operating in 1955 survived to the year 2016. You can be sure that the ones that thrived were...