Journalists on the move – Week of March 16

by | Mar 16, 2020 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Minneapolis Star Tribune: Thom Kupper (@thomkupper) has taken on the role of AME of News.

New York Times: Clinton Cargill (@clintoncargill) has joined as Assistant Editor.

Wall Street Journal: Gwynn Guilford (@sinoceros) has been appointed Economics Reporter.

Wall Street Journal: Nicole Friedman (@NicoleFriedman) will be taking on the role of U.S. Housing and Economics Reporter.

Wall Street Journal: David Uberti (@DavidUberti) has joined to cover cyber and technology. He will be part of the enterprise tech team and will be reporting for WSJ Pro Cybersecurity.

Business and Commerce

Atlanta Business Chronicle: Mark Meltzer (@atlbizmark) is leaving the paper.

Bloomberg News: Jason Grotto (@jasongrotto) has joined the projects and investigations team.

Business Insider: Matthew Weinberger (@gamoid) has been promoted Deputy Editor.

Crain’s New York Business: has named Gwen Everett (@crainsnewyork) as a Reporter.

Financial News: Shruti Tripathi Chopra (@shrutitripathi6) has been appointed Editor.

Industry Dive: Meg Hargreaves (@industrydive) has been named Chief Operating Officer, effective March 23.

Lane Report, The: Natalie Pitman (@NataliePitman_) has joined as an Associate Publisher.

Energy, Environment & Natural Resources

Inside Climate News: Vernon Loeb (@LoebVernon) is now Executive Editor. Erica Goode (@egoode) is now Managing Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

MIT Technology Review: Abigail Ohlheiser (@abbyohlheiser) has been appointed Senior Editor.

Wirecutter: Justin Redman (@wirecutter) will be joining as an Associate Staff Writer at the end of the month.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Evening Standard: Jenny Stone (@jennysterne) has been appointed Social Media Producer.

How to Spend It: Carlo Apostoli (@carloapostoli) has been named Art Director.

Independent, The: Richard Hall (@_richardhall) has been appointed Senior US Correspondent.

PA Media: Jemma Crew (@jemmacrew) has been named Social Affairs Correspondent.

Standard.co.uk: George Fenwick (@george_fenwick_) has been appointed Online Showbiz Reporter.

News and Media (Regional)

Basingstoke Gazette: Bethany Papworth (@BethBasGazette) has been appointed Trainee Reporter.

Daily Record: Jon Hebditch (@jahebditch) has been named Reporter.

MyLondon: Anahita Hossein-Pour (@anahitahpour) has been appointed Local Democracy Reporter.

Powys County Times: Anwen Parry (@anwenparryct) has been named Reporter.

Sunderland Live: Sophie Finnegan (@sophieefinnegan) has been appointed Senior Journalist.

Wiltshire Times: Matthew McLaughlin (@matthew_mcl90) has been named Local Democracy Reporter.

Yorkshire Live: Jonty Colman (@JontyColman) has been appointed Digital Football Writer.

Business and Commerce

Business Insider: Will Martin (@willmartin19) has been promoted to Associate Sports Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

ICYMI: Bulldog’s most popular posts from June

ICYMI: Bulldog’s most popular posts from June

With the COVID crisis still raging, June also saw the renewed Black Lives Matter movement and social justice protests take off following the killing of George Floyd by police in Minneapolis on Memorial Day, and brands were once again challenged to take a stand on the...

When is it appropriate to take risks as a PR agency owner?

When is it appropriate to take risks as a PR agency owner?

Risks taken in business involve decision making and good old-fashioned hard work. Running a consistently growing and thriving business for the past six years, I’ve realized the importance of taking risks in order to achieve success. However, I understand it’s not easy...

5 public relations tips for health and fitness products

5 public relations tips for health and fitness products

It can seem like every other day there is a new health or fitness product in the news either being launched or being rocked with scandal. Navigating the market as a health and fitness brand can be challenging, and knowing how to keep your public relations on point can...