Journalists on the move – Week of March 9

by | Mar 9, 2020 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Asheville Citizen Times: Katie Wadington (@katiewadington) is joining USA Today as Politics Editor, at the end of the month.

Associated Press: Paul Byrne (@byrnepaulj) is taking on an expanded regional role as Deputy News Director for Latin America.

Cox Enterprises: Jana Collier has been named Publisher across Dayton Daily News (@daytondailynews), Springfield News-Sun (@springfieldnews) and Journal-News of Butler County (@journalnews).

Reuters Bangalore: Akshay Balan (@akshaybal_n) is leaving the bureau to focus on academic interests.

Broadcasting

MSNBC: Chris Matthews (@msnbc) has retired.

Business and Commerce

Bloomberg News: Shannon Sims (@business) is joining as Economy and Government Editor for Latin America, based in Brasília.

Business Insider: Darren Samuelsohn (@dsamuelsohn) is joining the team as DC Bureau Chief.

Fast Company: has hired Aimee Rawlins (@aimeerawlins) as Senior Staff Editor (Design).

Protocol: has hired Emily Birnbaum (@birnbaum_e) as Reporter, based in the Washington bureau.

Wall Street Journal: Newley Purnell (@newley) is now covering tech and business in Asia.

Wall Street Journal: Rachael Levy (@rachael_levy) is covering domestic terrorism for the publication.

Healthcare and Medicine

Healthcare Dive: Hailey Mensik (@haileymensik1) is joining the team as an Associate Editor.

Cannabis Business Times: Patrick Williams (@CBTmag) is joining as Senior Editor.

Hemp Grower: Theresa Bennett (@hemp_grower) has joined as Associate Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

Digiday: Max Willens (@maxwillens) has been promoted to Senior Reporter.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Sunday Times Travel Magazine: Katie Gatens (@katie_gatens) has been appointed Digital Travel Editor.

Telegraph Sport: Anthony Scyld (@scyldberry) has been named Chief Cricket Writer.

News and Media (Regional)

In Your Area: Tom Gibbon (@inyourarea_uk) has been named Editor.

Kent Live: Lauren MacDougall (@lmacdougall93) has been appointed Creative Content Director.

Sunday Mail: Lorna Hughes (@lorna_hughes) has been named Editor.

Surrey Live: Dave Comeau (@davidajcomeau) has been appointed Digital Editor.

Weston, Worle & Somerset Mercury: Vicky Angear (@WSMERCURY) has been named Editor.

Broadcasting

BBC North West: Phil McCann (@phi1mccann) has been appointed Acting Political Editor.

BBC Wales: Oliver Pritchard (@journo_oliver) has been appointed Investigative Reporter.

ITV Anglia: Katie Ridley (@Katie__Ridley) has been named Production Journalist (Content Hub).

ITV News: Jessica Omari (@jessicaomari) has been appointed Business & Economics Producer.

Business and Commerce

Mergermarket: Lucinda Guthrie (@LGuthrie1) has been appointed Executive Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Gentleman’s Journal: Jonathan Wells (@jonathanjwells) has been named Deputy Editor.

Sheerluxe.com: Michelle Royle (@michelle_editor) has been appointed Weddings Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

Digiday: Lucinda Southern (@lucy28southern) has been named UK Media Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

6 tips for communicating during the coronavirus pandemic

6 tips for communicating during the coronavirus pandemic

For brands, deciding how and when to communicate during the current coronavirus pandemic is fraught with difficulty. With the outbreak in full swing, we gathered six recent observations about the messages and communications channels brands might consider using (or...

How Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop rebuilt its reputation after crisis

How Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop rebuilt its reputation after crisis

Founded by actress Gwyneth Paltrow in 2008, wellness and lifestyle brand Goop has been hit by its fair share of criticism over the years. From allegations of privilege to pseudoscientific language, debate over the brand’s product claims has been more or less non-stop;...