Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

City, The: (@TheCityNY) hires Jere Hester (@Jere_Hester) as Editor-in-Chief. The non-profit news venture will cover New York City when it launches next year. Coverage will include healthcare, transportation, housing and criminal justice. New York magazine will carry some of the content. They plan to collaborate with other local outlets. Hester plans to hire at least 15 editorial staffers.

GateHouse Media: acquires The Oklahoman Media Company, publisher of The Oklahoman (@TheOklahoman) in Oklahoma City.

HuffPost: launches “HuffPost Life“, a section featuring advice and “actionable guidance” about wellness, personal finance, relationships, work, travel, food, style, parenting and other lifestyle topics. It’s billed as a “No-BS Guide to Modern Life.” The section is led by Editorial Director for Lifestyle Kate Palmer (@katepalms).

Los Angeles Times: hires Johana Bhuiyan (@JMBooyah) as an Enterprise Reporter covering Silicon Valley and technology. She will move from New York to the SF Bay Area. Margot Roosevelt (@margotroosevelt) joins as a Reporter covering the California economy.

New York Times: promotes Amy Virshup (@amyvirshup) to Travel Editor.

Philadelphia Inquirer (@PhillyInquirer), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (@PittsburghPG) and The Caucus (@CaucusPA): have launched Spotlight PA, an investigative news project focusing on state government in Pennsylvania. The new venture will hire an independent editor-in-chief who will hire an editorial staff in addition to contributors from the contributing media outlets. The Caucus is a weekly state government watchdog publication from LNP Media Group of Lancaster, Pa.

Slate: hires Mary E. Harris (@marysdesk) as Host of a new daily news podcast.

Wall Street Journal: hires Chip Cutter (@ChipCutter) as a Reporter covering work and management issues.

Washington Examiner: hires Seth Mandel (@SethAMandel) as Executive Editor of its weekly print magazine, effective Oct. 15.

Washington Post Magazine: has launched a redesign. New features include “Opening Lines,” with two short-form “quirky or unusual” about “interesting characters, events and trends.” “Let’s Talk” features an interview between a magazine author and “someone who posted a critical comment on their piece.” “Star Power” by Helena Andrews-Dyer covers “the intersection of D.C., politics and pop culture.” Editor Richard Just (@RichardAJust) oversees coverage.

Broadcasting

CBS News: promotes Brian Gottlieb (@briangottlieb) to Supervising Producer for “CBS Evening News.” He remains in the D.C. bureau.

CNN: launches CNN Business, a digital channel that replaces CNNMoney. Coverage will place more emphasis on technology. Executive Editor Rich Barbieri (@richbarbieri) oversees coverage.

Business and Commerce

Business Insider: hires Zachary Tracer (@ZTracer) as a Healthcare Editor. He will lead a team of reporters contributing primarily to Business Insider Prime, the site’s subscription news service.

Forbes: hires Laura Mandaro (@lauramandaro) as Assistant Managing Editor for technology and innovation, effective Oct. 29. She’s based in San Francisco.

Consumer Lifestyle

Meredith Corp.: hires Liz Doupnik (@LizDoupnik) as Executive Editor of Shape.com. Dara Kapoor (@dpettinelli) boards as Executive Editor of Health.com.

Healthcare and Medicine

Skift: launches Skift Wellness, a newsletter covering “the business of modern wellness through a lens of marketing, strategy, and tech.” It defines wellness as encompassing “wellness tech, travel, athleisure, food and drinks, nutrition, mind and body, beauty and spa, and work and home.” The newsletter will consist of “curated briefs.” Leslie Barrie (@LeslieBarrie) serves as Editor.

Politics, Government and Education

National Journal: hires Harrison Cramer (@HarrisonCramer) as a National Security Correspondent.

Splinter: promotes Jack Mirkinson (@jackmirkinson) to Deputy Editor.

Task & Purpose: hires Paul Szoldra (@PaulSzoldra) as Editor-in-Chief. The site covers news for military veterans.

Technology and Telecoms

Verge, The: hires Sean Hollister (@StarFire2258) as Senior News Editor.

Wired: hires Paris Martineau (@parismartineau) as Staff Writer. Based in New York, she will cover technology from the business desk.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Express: Levi Winchester (@leviwinchester) has been named Finance Reporter.

Daily Mirror: Russell Myers (@rjmyers) has been named Royal Correspondent.

Daily Star Sport: Steve Acteson (@DailyStar_Sport) has retired.

Daily Telegraph: (@telegraph) have launched a new Royal-themed newsletter, Your Royal Appointment, for subscribers, featuring articles from Camilla Tominey and Hannah Furness. Lela London (@LelaLondon) has been appointed Digital Lifestyle Writer.

Financial Times: Suzanne Blumsom (@financialtimes) and Josh Noble (@JoshTANoble) have been named Executive Editor and Weekend News Editor respectively.

Guardian, The: Ewen Macaskill (@guardian) has retired.

Guardian Weekly: has relaunched as a news magazine (@guardianweekly). The title will now appear on the newsstand, rather than next to the newspapers. The first issue is on Friday 12 October. There will be three editions of Guardian Weekly – a global edition, one aimed at Australia, and one for the North American market.

Independent, The: (@independent) has launched a new paywall offering ‘exclusive content, an ad-free live website and app experience and promising “closer interaction” with its journalists’.

Telegraph Sport: Katie Whyatt (@KatieWhyatt) has been named Women’s Football Reporter. Ross Clarke (@RossClarke789) has been appointed Betting Reporter. Jeremy Wilson (@JWTelegraph) has been named Chief Sports Reporter. Sam Dean (@SamJDean) has been appointed Deputy Football Correspondent.

YOU: Stephanie Sofokleous (@FannyAdamss), Lucy Coghlan (@youmagsocial) and Joanne Toolan (@joaannne) have been named Fashion Assistant, Fashion Bookings Director and Senior Fashion Assistant respectively.

News and Media (Regional)

East London & West Essex Guardian: Victoria Birch (@ELondonGuardian) is point of contact for the East London & West Essex Guardian, which is the result of a merger of the Waltham Forest Guardian, Chingford Guardian and Wanstead & Woodford Guardian.

Broadcasting

BBC World Service: Joe Tidy (@joetidy) has been named Cyber Security Specialist.

Digital Spy: Owen Gough (@OwenGough) has been appointed Technology Editor (E-Commerce).

STV News: Polly Bartlett (@polly_bartlett) has been named Production Journalist.

Consumer Lifestyle

ES Magazine: Rosamund Dean (@RosamundDean) has been named Acting Deputy Editor.

Imbibe: Kate Malczewski (@katemalczewski) has been appointed Editorial Assistant.

Freelancer: Wendy Rigg (@wendyrigg) is available for fashion related commissions.

Freelancer: Jo Wheatley (@jo_wheatley) is available for fashion, parenting and lifestyle commissions.

Healthcare and Medicine

Freelancer: Dr Sarah Brewer (@DrSarahB) is available for health and nutrition commissions.

Slimming World: Rebecca Woollard (@foodeditorbecks) has been named Food Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Journalists on the move – Week of October 15

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week. USA AND CANADA Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves News and Media Agence France-Presse: promotes Shaun Tandon (@shauntandon) to State Department Correspondent. Atlantic, The: hires...

PR rebranding—here’s your guide to a successful brand reboot

A company’s brand is the image it shows to the public. With things moving so quickly, sometimes we need to take a step back and revisit the message we are sharing with the world. In order to not fall behind, there are some things you are going to want to take into...