Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Associated Press: Michael Graczyk (@AP) has retired.

Bloomberg News: hires Davide Scigliuzzo (@dscigliuzzo) as a Reporter covering corporate leverage.

Boston Globe: appoints Shirley Leung (@leung) as Interim Editorial Page Editor.

Financial Times: appoints Henry Foy (@HenryJFoy) as Moscow Bureau Chief.

Los Angeles Times: hires Drew Tewksbury (@drewtewksbury) as Arts and Entertainment Editor.

Wall Street Journal: moves Austen Hufford (@austenhufford) to the manufacturing beat in Chicago. Jimmy Vielkind (@JimmyVielkind) joins as a Reporter focusing on New York state politics. Louise Story (@louisestory) has been named Editor of Newsroom Strategy.

Washington Post: hires former Madhulika Sikka (@madhulikasikka) as Executive Producer of a forthcoming daily news podcast. Currently Public Editor of PBS, she begins Sept. 10. Jacqueline Alemany joins as Anchor of “Power Up,” a forthcoming morning newsletter covering “the people and power centers of Washington.” She begins Sept. 17.

Broadcasting

CNN: hires Arlette Saenz (@ArletteSaenz) as Politics Reporter.

Business and Commerce

D CEO: hires Brandon J. Call (@DFW_Brandon) as Managing Editor. The publication covers business in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Quartz: moves Simone Stolzoff (@SimoneStolzoff) to a new beat focusing on “the intersection of Silicon Valley and labor.”

Consumer Lifestyle

Vogue: Selby Drummond (@selbydrummond) leaves to become head of fashion and beauty partnerships for Snap.

Healthcare and Medicine

FDANews: hires Lisa Stein (@fdanewspharma) as Editorial Director. She oversees the company’s pharma and medical device newsletters as well as CenterWatch, which covers clinical trial management. Both properties are owned by WIRB-Copernicus Group.

Politics, Government and Education

Atlantic, The: launches “Ideas,” a new online opinion section. Yoni Appelbaum (@YAppelbaum) oversees the section.

Politico: promotes Matthew Kaminski (@KaminskiMK) to Global Editor.

Washington Examiner: hires Toby Harnden (@tobyharnden) as Managing Editor, effective Oct. 1.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Telegraph: Hasan Chowdhury (@_hasanc) and Mason Boycott-Bowen (@Masonboyowen) have been appointed Technology Reporter and Editorial Graduate Journalist respectively.

Mail on Sunday: Dan Hyde (@dantlhyde) has been appointed Assistant Editor.

Sun Online, The: Beril Naz Hassan (@berilnazhassan) has been named Showbiz SEO Reporter.

News and Media (Regional)

Evening Standard: Safeeyah Kazi (@safeeyahkazi) has been named Showbiz Reporter.

Holyrood: Gemma Fraser (@GemmaFraser10) has been appointed Journalist.

Manchester Evening News: Dianne Bourne (@diannebourne) is available for freelance commissions.

Broadcasting

Digital Spy: Ian Sandwell (@ian_sandwell) has been named Deputy Movies Editor.

Sky News: Rowland Manthorpe (@rowlsmanthorpe) and Nick Martin (@NickMartinSKY) have been appointed Technology Correspondent and Politics & People Correspondent respectively.

Consumer Lifestyle

Ethical Consumer Magazine: Heather Web (@_heather_webb) is leaving in October. Leonie Nimmo (@leonienimmo) can still be reached with ethical consumerism related news.

Grazia: Charlie Miller (@GraziaUK) has joined Porter Magazine as Executive Fashion and Jewellery Director.

Smallish: Gilly Basset (nee Ferguson) has been named Editor (@GillyFerg).

Technology and Telecoms

DIGIT: Duncan MacRae (@DDMacRae) has been appointed Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Holiday outreach time is here—are your links ready? 

Even though Halloween was just a couple of weeks ago, the shift into the holiday season has already begun. According to a recent Forbes article, holiday shopping’s center of gravity has shifted to November. Whether you’re rolling out a multi-channel holiday marketing...

These 5 PR tactics will help your start-up hit the ground running

All start-ups have one common issue: they need attention and brand recognition to grow, but they typically need to compete against larger, more established businesses. This can dampen the spirits of many start-up companies looking for ways to cut through the noise...