fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of April 23

by | Apr 23, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Associated Press: promotes Cara Rubinsky (@AP) to Deputy Business Editor for newsgathering.

Bloomberg News: hires Antonio Vanuzzo (@antoniovanuzzo) as a London-based Corporate Finance Reporter, effective in May. Jenny Leonard (@jendeben) has been named Reporter covering trade, effective in May.

Fort Worth Star-Telegram: hires Steve Coffman (@SteveCoffman1) as Executive Editor.

Tampa Bay Times: appoints Graham Brink (@GrahamBrink) as Business Columnist.

USA Today: appoints Jeff Taylor (@jefftayloredits) as Executive Editor for news.

Washington Post: promotes Dan Steinberg (@dcsportsbog) to Breaking News Editor for the Sports desk.

Broadcasting

CNN: hires Sarah Westwood (@sarahcwestwood) as White House Reporter.

Washington Business Journal: promotes Sara Gilgore (@WBJGilgore) to Healthcare Reporter.

WFLA-TV: hires Ryan Minnaugh (@ryanminnaugh) as News Director.

WKRC-TV: launches “What’s Happening In Health,” a weekly half-hour series hosted by Liz Bonis (@lbonis1). The show airs only on the Cincinnati station, but her daily reports run on other stations owned by Sinclair Broadcasting.

Business and Commerce

Dayton Business Journal: hires Hannah Poturalski (@HPoturalskiDBJ) as Managing Editor.

Harvard Business Review: launches “Reinventing Health Care,” a free monthly newsletter covering management issues involving healthcare. Senior editors Steven Prokesch (@prokesch) and Gardiner Morse will oversee content.

PR Week: hires Thomas Moore (@thdomo) as a Senior Reporter in New York.

Healthcare and Medicine

Pharmacy & Therapeutics Journal: promotes Lyn K. Chesna (@PTJournal780) to Editor.

UBM Medica: Nora Ray (@hopeitkeepsup) has left.

Politics, Government and Education

Bloomberg Law: hires David Mark (@DavidMarkDC) as Managing Editor for privacy and data security.

Marshall Project: hires Marcia Davis (@mddavis01) as News Editor. The non-profit editorial service covers criminal justice.

Politico: hires Michael B. Farrell (@mikebfarrell) as Cybersecurity Editor.

Sports and Leisure

Bicycling Magazine: Leah Flickinger (@leahflickinger) has left.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Mirror: Jessica Gibb (@jessica_gibb) has been named Assistant Celebrity Editor. Suchandrika Chakrabarti (@SuchandrikaC) has left to freelance

Financial Times: Stefania Palma (@stef_palma) and Josh Spero (@joshspero) have been appointed Singapore Correspondent and Transport Correspondent respectively. Delphine Strauss (@financialtimes) has been appointed Economics Correspondent.

Observer, The: Lucy Rock (@lucyjrock) has been named Deputy Editor.

News and Media (Regional)

Courier (Perth), The: Richard Burdge (@C_RBurdge) has retired. Kirsty McIntosh (@c_kmcintosh) is on leave.

South Wales Argus: Estel Farell-Roig (@argusfarellroig) joins Wales Online at the end of the month.

Broadcasting

BBC News & Current Affairs: Jason Phipps (@jasotweet) has been named Commissioning Editor (Podcasts).

Channel 4 News: Georgia Graham (@georgiagraham) has been appointed Deputy Head of Digital.

Heart Sussex: James Hoxey (@jameshoxey) has been named Regional News Editor (South).

Yahoo! UK: Raj Mannik (@RajMannick) has been appointed Head of Sport.

Business and Commerce

IJ Global: Nazia Begum (@IJGlobal) has been promoted to Reporter – Funds.

Consumer Lifestyle

Closer: Katherine Romero (@KatMayRomero) has been named Deputy News Editor.

Healthy Diet: Susan Dickerson (@HealthyDietMag) and Danielle Lett (@_daniellealex) have been appointed Editor and Deputy Editor respectively.

HomeStyle Magazine: Nicola Howarth (@homestylemaguk) has been named Editorial Assistant.

New!: Gemma McCartney (@gemmamccartney1) has been appointed Senior Showbiz Writer and Food & Fitness Editor.

Ok.co.uk: Zoe Briggs (@OK_Magazine) has left.

Vogue: Rosie Smythe and Carolina Augustin (@BritishVogue) have been named Fashion Assistants.

Your Home: Alice Butler (@your_home) has been appointed Features Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

New Scientist: Emily Wilson (@emilyhwilson) has been named Editor.

PCR: Rob Horgan (@robbiehorgs) has left.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

How HR employee management software can improve your PR results

The human resources and public relations departments are different sides of the same coin, but it’s rare that companies give them the space to work together. Without a quality work culture, employees will leave, talent will stay away, and your reputation will take a...

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

5 tips for PR to better incorporate technology

Technology has drastically changed the public relations field over the last several years. The rise of social media has given PR professionals new tools to reach and engage with their audiences. At the same time, new technologies have made it easier for journalists...