fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of November 27

by | Nov 27, 2017 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

TheAtlantic.com: hires Ms. Swati Sharma (@SwatiGauri) as Deputy Editor.

Detroit Free Press: hires Randy Essex (@randyessex) as a Senior Content Director overseeing business coverage.

San Antonio Express-News: promotes Jennifer Hiller (@Jennifer_Hiller) to Deputy Business Editor.  Lynn Brezosky (@lbrezosky) now covers economics and workplace, replacing David Hendricks, who will retire early next year.

Broadcasting

Bloomberg: (@business) launches “The Bloomberg 50,” a franchise that will recognize influential figures in business, politics, science, technology and entertainment. The first list will be revealed in a special issue of Bloomberg Businessweek appearing Nov. 30. Honorees will also be recognized at “The Bloomberg 50 Gala” Dec. 4 in New York City. That event will be covered by Bloomberg Digital, Bloomberg Television and Bloomberg Radio. Attendance is by invitation only.

NBC: hires David Gura (@davidgura) as a Business/Economics Reporter for NBC News and MSNBC, effective Nov. 25. He will also anchor “MSNBC Live” on weekends.

Univision News: senior national correspondent Lourdes Meluza (@lourdesmeluza) has retired.

Business and Commerce

Adweek: hires Josh Sternberg (@joshsternberg) as Technology Editor.

Barron’s: hires Jon Swartz (@jswartz) as a Senior Reporter, effective Dec. 4. He will cover technology.

Fortune: technology reporter Barb Darrow (@gigabarb) has left.

Consumer Lifestyle

Brooklyn Magazine: hire Yahdon Israel (@yahdonisrael) as Editor-in-Chief.

 

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Telegraph: Louis Emanuel (@louisjemanuel) has been appointed Assistant Foreign News Editor. Rozina Sabur (@RozinaSabur) has been named Washington Correspondent.

Mail Online: Tariq Tahir (@tariqtahir) has been appointed Foreign News Reporter.

Daily Mirror: Yara Silva (@yarasilva1) has been named Acting Head of Social Media.

News and Media (Regional)

Business Echo: Steven Hugill (@SHugillEcho) has been appointed Editor.

Hexham Courant: James Robinson (@madjimmyr2011) has been named Reporter, covering Norththumberland.

Press & Journal, The: Danny Law (@dannylaw) has been appointed Sports Editor.

Stratford-upon-Avon Herald: Matt Elofson (@elofsonmatt) has been named Reporter.

Broadcasting

Sky News: David Mercer (@davidmercersky) has been appointed News Reporter.

Construction, Real Estate and Manufacturing

Construction Manager: Will Mann (@will_mann) has been named Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Glamour: Chelsea Hughes (@ChelsHughes92) has been named Picture and Multimedia Producer.

Schon Magazine: Marianna Frannais (@SchonMagazine) has been promoted to Fashion Editor-at-Large; Christophe Ruiz, aka Kristofj von Strass, has been named Fashion Editor; Douglas VanLaningham has been appointed Contributing Fashion Editor; Sara Delgado has been named Head of Digital.

sheerluxe.com: Holly O’Mahony (@hollyomahony) has been named Features Writer and Sub Editor.

Technology and Telecoms

Macworld UK: A series of promotions have been made across Macworld UK and TechAdvisor UK. Dominic Preston (@dompreston) is now Senior Staff Writer. Marie Black (@MarieLouBlack) has been named Group Editor. Chris Martin (@mrcjmartin) is now Reviews Editor. Henry Burrell (@hrburrell) has been promoted to Deputy Reviews Editor. Lewis Painter (@lewwypaints) is now Games Editor and Ashleigh Macro (@AshleighMacro) has been named Ecommerce Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

4 influencer marketing trends to expect in 2023

4 influencer marketing trends to expect in 2023

To no surprise, 2022 was a major period of growth and transformation for influencer marketing. And while this number is expected to continue to rise, there are particular challenges that brands and marketers face in order for their campaigns to be executed...