fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of July 30

by | Jul 30, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Bloomberg News: Emma Ockerman (@EOckerman) has left.

Daily Memphian: (https://www.dailymemphian.com/) will launch this fall as a non-profit media outlet covering daily news in Memphis, Tennessee.

New York Times: hires Susan Fowler (@susanthesquark) as Technology Editor for the Op-Ed section. She’s based in San Francisco. Kate Conger (@kateconger) has joined as a General-Assignment Technology Reporter.

Reuters: hires Chris Bing (@Bing_Chris) as a Cybersecurity Reporter in D.C. Ken Li (@kenli729) joins as U.S. Media & Telecoms Editor, effective in August.

Tampa Bay Times: hires Mark Katches (@TB_Times) as Executive Editor, effective August 20. Veronica Brezina has been appointed Reporter covering healthcare, tourism, airports and the port.

Washington Post: hires Erin Cox (@washingtonpost) as a Politics and Government Reporter.

Broadcasting

NBC News: promotes Tony Capra (@tcapra) to Director of Newsgathering in D.C.

Business and Commerce

Austin Business Journal: promotes Will Anderson (@MyABJ) to Managing Editor. His responsibilities include the Venture section, which covers startups and entrepreneurs.

S&P Global: hires Julianne Wey (@JuliannesWey) as a Reporter covering small- and mid-cap biopharma companies. She works from the Charlottesville, Va. office. Ricky Zipp (@zippricky) also joins as a Reporter, covering federal policy affecting healthcare providers and medtech companies as well as trends in state healthcare policy. He is based in Arlington, Va.

Consumer Lifestyle

ELLE.com: hires Katherine Stoeffel (@ELLEmagazine) as Senior Editor.

Esquire.com: hires Joanna Rothkopf (@joannarothkopf) as Deputy Editor.

High Times: hires Kyle Jaeger (@kylejaeger) as News Editor.

Instyle: hires Romy Oltuski (@RomyOltuski) as Deputy Features Director.

Town & Country: hires Olivia Martin (@OhMissJune) as Styles and Interiors Writer.

Healthcare and Medicine

Dermatologist, The: Lisa B. Samalonis has left to become Medical Editor for HealthCare Alliance Group, a medical communications firm. Pitches for The Dermatologist can go to Associate Editor Melissa Weiss (@TheDermEditor).

Sports and Leisure

Hearst: appoints Christa Sgobba (@christasgobba) as Senior Editor of Runner’s World and Bicycling.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Mail (City & Finance): Fiona Parker (@fiona_parker14) has been appointed Reporter (Money Mail).

Mail Online: Joe Middleton (@joejsmiddleton) has been appointed News Reporter. Lucy Crossley (@RealLCrossley) has been named Assistant News Editor.

Mirror Online: Shivali Best (@shivalibest) has been named Acting Science & Technology Editor. Robyn Darbyshire (@robynemilyd) has been appointed Audience Writer.

Sunday Times Style: Tom Miller (@theststyle) has been named Digital Director.

News and Media (Regional)

Huff Post UK: Henry Langston (@henry_langston) has been named Senior Field Producer.

Scotsman, The: Hannah Burley (@TheScotsman) has been appointed Business Reporter.

Broadcasting

BBC Radio Leeds: Jonathan Buchan (@jonathanbuchan) has been named Sports Editor.

Money Box: Dan Whitworth (@bbcdanw) has been appointed Reporter.

One Show, The: Luke Chilton (@BBCTheOneShow) has joined as a Journalist.

Consumer Lifestyle

Goodtoknow.co.uk: Stephanie Wood (@goodtoknow) named Acting Digital Content Director.

Loveexploring.com: Lottie Gross (@lottiecgross) is available for freelance opportunities.

Pink News: Jasmine Andersson (@the_chez) has left to pursue freelance opportunities.

Which?: Daniel Bird (@danjohnbird) has been appointed Homepage and Channels Editor.

Woman: Naomi Bartram (@naomibartram) has been named Senior Digital Writer.

Woman and Home: Jenni McKnight (@womanandhome) has been appointed Senior Content Editor (Lifestyle).

Technology and Telecoms

Trusted Reviews: Thomas Newton (@Thomas_Newton) has been appointed Computing Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Factors that impact the cost of SEO services

Factors that impact the cost of SEO services

Search engine optimization is similar to PR in that both are all about increasing awareness of your brand. SEO helps you get results by boosting your visibility with search engines like Google (which leads the pack by a massive margin), Yahoo and Bing. SEO is also...

Why omnichannel messaging is critical for positive small biz CX

Why omnichannel messaging is critical for positive small biz CX

New survey research from omnichannel comms solutions firm Mitto explores how small and mid-sized business (SMB) leaders view customer experience within their organization and what might be holding them back from deploying CX technologies. The survey results show SMBs...