Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Commercial-Appeal, The: hires Max Garland (@MaxGarlandTypes) as a Business Reporter covering healthcare, FedEx and logistics.

New York Times: (@nytimes) have redesigned the Sunday business section, which will place more emphasis on visuals, profiles, and narrative pieces. New features include “With Interest,” a Sunday newsletter, and “Work Friend,” a column with rotating authors that will focus on workplace and career issues. The paper will also rename the daily Business Day section to “Business.”

Reuters: hires Michael Friedenberg (@Reuters) as President of News and Media Operations, effective Dec. 3.

Washington Post: hires Jenn Abelson (@jennabelson) as Investigative Reporter, effective in January.

Broadcasting

Fox Business Network: plans a Nov. 30 launch for “WSJ at Large with Gerry Baker,” a weekly program hosted by Gerard Baker (@gerardtbaker).

KCTV-TV: hires Casey Clark (@CaseyClarkjr) as News Director.

NBC News: hires Olivia Solon (@oliviasolon) as Editor of Tech Investigations. She works from San Francisco.

Business and Commerce

Business Insider: hires Lucia Moses (@lmoses) as Deputy Editor overseeing advertising and media coverage.

CQ Roll Call: hires Zoe Sagalow (@thesagaofzoe) as a Reporter covering insurance for CQ Legal.

Meredith Corp.: has agreed to sell Fortune magazine (@FortuneMagazine) to Chatchaval Jiaravanon, a Thai businessman. Alan Murray will add Chief Executive to his current title as President. The new owner has set up a company called Fortune Media Group Holdings Ltd. to operate the magazine. The deal is expected to close at the end of the year.

Society for Human Resource Management: hires Theresa Agovino (@theresaagovino) as Workplace Editor.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Variety: promotes Daniel Holloway (@Variety) to Executive Editor for TV coverage. Variety also promotes Cynthia Littleton to Business Editor in New York.

Travel, Transport and Logistics

Travel + Leisure: promotes Jacqueline Gifford (@jacquigiff) to Editor-in-Chief.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

Broadcasting

5 News: Jay Akbar (@jayakbar13) has been named Output Producer.

BBC News Online: Andrew Picken (@andrewpicken1) has been appointed Journalist.

Channel 4 News: Minnie Stephenson (@minniesteph5) has been named Reporter.

Free Radio FM (Birmingham): Helen Hoddinott (@HelenHoddinott) has been appointed Reporter.

Newstalk: Shane Beatty (@ShaneBeattyNews) has been named Multimedia Journalist.

Sky News: Ali Fortescue (@alifortescue) has been appointed Home Affairs Reporter.

This Morning: Charlotte Seligman (@thismorning) has been named Head of News and Entertainment.

Business and Commerce

Financial News: Nell Mooney Mackenzi (@nellmooney) has been named Investment Banking Correspondent.

HRReview: Aphrodite Papadatou (@hrreview) has been appointed Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Boots Health & Beauty Magazine: Sarah-Jane Corfield-Smith (@BeautyJournoSJ) has been appointed Beuaty Director/Editor.

Grazia: Susannah Taylor (@susannahtaylor_) has been named Wellness Columnist.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Highsnobiety: Christopher Jacques Morency (@highsnobiety) has been named Editor-at-Large.

Healthcare and Medicine

Independent Community Pharmacist: Neil Trainis (@NeilTrainis) has been appointed Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

ICYMI: Bulldog’s Top 10 posts from November

We had another awesome month of engagement in November, with a nice range of articles making up our Top 10 most read—including a handful of new research-based posts about Gen Z’s preference for “sensory journalism,” new metrics for measuring the ROI of social good,...

Why you should thoroughly audit your social media presence

The way most people, especially younger generations, will experience your brand is through your company’s online presence, particularly on social media. People care about what is said on social media and the overall message you are putting across. There is no other...

Closing the CX gap—why consumers say marketers are doing it wrong

Despite increasing investment from brands in marketing technology, nearly half of consumers say brands aren’t meeting their expectations when it comes to the customer experience (CX)—and even fewer remember the last time a brand exceeded expectations, according to...