Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, Elected 2023 PRSA Chair

by | Oct 20, 2021

PRSA, the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communications community, announced today the individuals elected to its 2022 Board of Directors. The nominations were made by the 2021 Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee, and were approved by the delegates of the 2021 PRSA Leadership Assembly, held in a virtual format on Saturday, October 16.

A communications professional with more than three decades of experience, Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, was elected as chair of PRSA for 2023. The Chief Communications Officer of Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, Egan will serve as Chair-elect in 2022. She has served as Treasurer since 2020.

“The 2022 PRSA Board of Directors is a highly diverse group of experienced leaders who possess an incredibly strong knowledge of the communications profession,” said Debra D. Peterson, APR, PRSA 2021 Nominating Committee Chair. “I’m confident this leadership team will work to ensure PRSA is providing members with the tools and resources they need to succeed in our constantly evolving profession and that PRSA remains the leading professional organization serving the communications community, advocating for industry excellence and ethical conduct.”

The below candidates were elected to the following Board positions:

Officers (one-year term)

  • Chair-electMichelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, Chief Communications Officer, Alyeska Pipeline Service Company 
  • TreasurerJoseph Abreu, APR, Chief Communications Officer, Clerk & Comptroller of Lee County
  • SecretaryJane N. Law, APR, Internal/HR Communications Manager, New Hampshire Housing Finance Authority

Directors – District Representatives (two-year term): 

  • Midwest DistrictJacqueline K. Clark, MPA, APR, Fellow PRSA, West Regional Government Relations & Public Affairs, LafargeHolcim, Lee’s Summit, Missouri
  • North Pacific DistrictKaren Crabtree, APR, Senior Manager, Global Public Relations, Bluetooth SIG, Greater Seattle Area
  • Southeast DistrictJessica Graham, APR, Fellow PRSA, President, Fionix Consulting LLC, Indian Trail, North Carolina
  • Southwest DistrictHeide Harrell, APR, Director of Marketing and Business Development, Rose Law Firm, Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Sunshine DistrictAngela Walters Eveillard, MBA, APR, Director of Marketing and Strategic Communications, Hillsborough Community College, Tampa, Florida

Director At-Large(two-year term): 

  • David Marshall, Ph.D., APR, Professor and Chair, Department of Strategic Communication, Morgan State University, Baltimore, Maryland

They join incumbent Board members returning for 2022:

  • ChairFelicia Blow, Ph.D., APR, Associate Vice President for Development & Campaign Director, Hampton University
  • Immediate Past ChairMichelle Olson, APR, Managing Partner, Lambert
  • East Central District – Jennifer Day, APR, Great Lakes Regional Coordinator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Mid-Atlantic District – Jeff Wilson, APR, Vice President, Workplace Culture, Padilla
  • Tri-State District – James Shackelford, APR, President & Chief Executive Officer, SomaComm
  • Western District – Dr. Kaye Sweetser, Ph.D., APR+M, Fellow PRSA, Professor of Public Relations, San Diego State University
  • Director At-Large – Ray Day, Vice Chair, Stagwell Group

About Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, Chair-elect: 

For nearly three decades, Egan has applied her strategic communication skills to advance the reputations of government, nonprofit and private sector organizations.

In her role as Chief Communications Officer for Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, Egan directs internal and external communications for the company charged with operating the TransAlaska Pipeline System. Reporting to the president and serving on the six-member executive team, she is responsible for all aspects of formal company stakeholder communications, media and government relations, crisis communication and philanthropy.

Prior to her current role, she served in public relations positions at Junior Achievement, Anchorage Economic Development Corporation, and the Anchorage School District. Accredited in 2001, Egan has volunteered with PRSA for more than two decades and was president of the Alaska Chapter in 2016. She has served in a variety of key Chapter leadership roles including chairing committees on programs, education, ethics and accreditation. An avid mentor, she serves as Professional Adviser for the University of Alaska PRSSA Chapter.

About PRSA

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communications community. PRSA is the principal advocate for industry excellence and ethical conduct and provides members lifelong learning opportunities and leading-edge resources to enhance professional connections and support them at every stage of their career. With nearly 30,000 members, PRSA is collectively represented by 110 Chapters and 14 Professional Interest Sections, and on nearly 375 college and university campuses through its student organization, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). For more information, please visit www.prsa.org.

Bulldog Reporter
Bulldog Reporter is a leader in media intelligence supplying news, analysis and high-level training content to public relations and corporate communications professionals with the mission of helping these practitioners achieve superior competitive performance.


5 things you need to know about microblogging in content marketing

5 things you need to know about microblogging in content marketing

If you're reading this, you probably know what a blog is. After all, you’re reading one right now. Blogs are everywhere, with catchy titles and easy access. They’re brilliant for building your online presence and driving traffic, and SEO reps, content marketers, and...