fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of February 26

by | Feb 26, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Bloomberg News: promotes Crayton Harrison (@crayton_h) to Managing Editor, Global Business Americas. In his new role, he oversees coverage of companies in the Americas.

Chicago Tribune: Robert Reed (@chicagotribune) has left.

New York Times: hires Jennifer Valentino-DeVries (@jenvalentino) as a Reporter. She will cover technology, social media platforms and artificial intelligence for the Investigations team.

ProPublica: hires David Armstrong (@DavidArmstrongX) as a Senior Reporter focusing on healthcare.

Washington Post: hires Sara Sorcher (@SaraSorcher) as Deputy Editor of “PowerPost,” effective March 12. She will help launch newsletters on technology and cybersecurity/defense. The PowerPost franchise targets decision-makers in Washington.

Broadcasting

KETV-TV: Rose Ann Shannon (@KETV) retires, effective Feb. 28.

NBCUniversal Domestic Television: cancels “Harry,” the syndicated daytime talk show hosted by Harry Connick Jr. Production will continue through the end of the season in September.

Business and Commerce

Bank Director: hires Jake Lowary (@JakeLowary) as Managing Editor, effective March 5.

Milwaukee Business Journal: hires Nick Williams (@NWilliamsMBJ) as a Residential Real Estate, Transportation and Technology Reporter.

Construction, Real Estate and Manufacturing

Manufacturing.Net: Abbey Dean (@AbbDean) has left.

Consumer Lifestyle

Nylon: Sandra Song (@sndrsng) has been appointed Senior Entertainment Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Freelancer: Ken Terry a writer focusing on healthcare business and health IT, has taken a full-time job with PR/marketing firm Amendola Communications (@AmendolaComm).

Politics, Government and Education

CalMatters: hires Dan Morain (@DanielMorain) as a Commentary Editor. He will also produce a daily newsletter.

Technology and Telecoms

CRN: hires Dylan Martin (@DylanLJMartin) as an Associate Editor, effective March 12. He will cover Intel and the Internet of Things for an audience of tech resellers and system integrators.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

Daily Telegraph: Harry Yorke (@HarryYorke1) has been named Political Correspondent.

Guardian, The: Jim Waterson (@jimwaterson) will be joining as Media Editor.

Sun Online, The: David Trayner (@davidtrayner) and Sophia Moir (@smoir) have been named Assistant News Editor and Sun Savers Editor respectively.

News and Media (Regional)

Chronicle, The: Michael Muncaster (@michaelmjourno) has been appointed Content Editor across The Sunday Sun, The Journal and The Chronicle.

Broadcasting

BBC News & Current Affairs: Adina Campbell (@adinacampbell) has been named Community Affairs Correspondent.

BBC North West Tonight: Kevin Fitzpatrick (@kevfitz21) has been appointed Political Editor.

BBC Radio Manchester: Chelsea Norris (@radiochelsea) and Mat Trewern (@mattrewern) has been named Breakfast Presenter and Political Reporter respectively.

BBC Wales: Gemma Parry (@GemmaParry4) has been appointed Multi Platform Journalist.

Daily Politics: Rob Burley (@RobBurl) has been named Editor (Live Political Programmes).

Dispatches: Louisa Compton (@louisa_compton) has been appointed Commissioning Editor.

ITV News: Tom Clarke (@tomclarke4) has been appointed Science Editor.

talkSPORT: Jamie Sanderson (@Sanderson) has been named Social Media Programming Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Marie Claire: Jenny Proudfoot (@JenniferBella30) has been promoted to Junior Digital News Editor.

MR PORTER: Tom Ford (@tommerlinford) has been promoted to Daily Editor.

Now: Georgia Farquharson (@celebsnow) has joined Now, Woman, Woman’s Own and Woman’s Weekly as Celebrity Writer.

Spectator Life: Danielle Wall (@Spectator_LIFE) has been appointed Editor.

Vogue: Katie Berrington (@KatieBerrington) has been promoted to Associate Digital Editor. Alice Casely-Hayford (@BritishVogue) has been named Digital Editor.

Healthcare and Medicine

Health Service Journal: Annabelle Collins (@HSJAnnabelle) has been named Workforce Correspondent.

Technology and Telecoms

Computer Business Review: James Nunns (@JamesNunns) has been named Editor.

Freelancers: Nick Carson (@nickcarson), Steve McCaskill (@MickeyCaskill) and Sunetra Chakravarti (@csunetra) are available for commissions.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES