Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Atlantic, The: hires Yara Bayoumy (@yarabayoumy) as a Senior Editor overseeing national security coverage.

Chicago Reporter: hires Fernando Diaz (@chicagoreporter) as Editor-in-Chief and Publisher.

Chicago Tribune: Bill Daley (@chicagotribune) has retired.

Globe and Mail: appoints Joe Friesen (@FriesenJoe) as a Higher Education Reporter.

Houston Chronicle: hires Erin Douglas (@erinmdouglas23) as a General-Assignment Business Reporter.

New York Times: hires Jorge Arangure (@jorgearangure) as a Senior Editor for the Metro section. His responsibilities will include the relaunch of New York Today, a morning newsletter. New York Times also promotes Karron Skog (@karronskog) to Associate Managing Editor overseeing teams that produce the homescreen, alerts and briefings.

Wall Street Journal: promotes David Marcelis (@david_marcelis) to Deputy Media & Marketing Bureau Chief.

Broadcasting

WTNH-TV: hires Chuck Carter (@Chuck_JCarter) as News Director.

WUSA-TV: Carlton Houston (@wusa9) has left.

Business and Commerce

Los Angeles Business Journal: Jerry Sullivan (@LABJnews) has left.

Consumer Lifestyle

Sunset: Irene Edwards (@sunset) has left.

Politics, Government and Education

Law360: hires Kaitlyn Burton (@knicoleburton) as a General Assignment Reporter.

McClatchy: Tim Grieve (@timgrieve) has left to start a new media venture.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Telegraph: Louise Burke (@louiseontwitr) is leaving at the end of November to join The National UAE.

FT Weekend: Helen Barrett (@helenbarrett) and Alexander Fury (@AlexanderFury) have been appointed Editor, House & Home and Men’s Fashion Critic respectively

Mail on Sunday: Simon Neville (@simonneville) has been named City Reporter.

Mail Online: Carol Driver (@caroldtravels) has left to freelance.

Mirror Online: Bradley Jolly (@bradjolly92) has been appointed Online Reporter.

News and Media (Regional)

Basildon Echo: Ellis Whitehouse (@E_Whitehouse293) has been appointed Senior Reporter.

City Matters: Andrew Zuccala (@city_matters) has been named Lifestyle Writer.

Evening Standard: Sophie Sleigh (@sophiasleigh) has been appointed City Hall Reporter. Ross Lydall (@rosslydall) has been named Health Editor and City Hall Editor. Anthony France (@ESMagOfficial) has been appointed Senior News Correspondent. Adebola Lamuye (@adelamuye) has been named Junior Reporter.

Irish Independent: David Chance (@chancedavid) has been appointed Business Journalist.

Broadcasting

Global: Jazmin Duribe (@jazminduribe) has been named Content Editor.

Business and Commerce

Forbes.com: Lela London (@lelalondon) has been appointed Lifestyle Contributor.

FTAdviser.com: Victoria Ticha (@victoria_ticha) has been appointed Features Writer.

Consumer Lifestyle

Drapers: Grace Whelan (@G_raceWhelan) has been named News Reporter.

Red: Fiona Collins (@RedMagDaily) has been appointed Executive Fashion Director.

Sports and Leisure

Football Whispers: Ryan Baldi (@ryanbaldifw) has been appointed Senior Football Writer.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

Holiday outreach time is here—are your links ready? 

Even though Halloween was just a couple of weeks ago, the shift into the holiday season has already begun. According to a recent Forbes article, holiday shopping’s center of gravity has shifted to November. Whether you’re rolling out a multi-channel holiday marketing...

These 5 PR tactics will help your start-up hit the ground running

All start-ups have one common issue: they need attention and brand recognition to grow, but they typically need to compete against larger, more established businesses. This can dampen the spirits of many start-up companies looking for ways to cut through the noise...