fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of February 5

by | Feb 5, 2018 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

Associated Press: has established a reporting team covering issues related to marijuana. Members include Reporters Michael Blood (@michaelrbloodap), Mike Balsamo (@mikebalsamo1) and Krysta Fauria (@krystafauria) in Los Angeles; Paul Elias (@AP) in San Francisco; Gene Johnson (@geneapseattle) in Seattle.

Buffalo News: promotes Denise Jewell Gee (@DeniseJewellGee) to Assistant Managing Editor. She will oversee local news coverage.

New York Daily News: hires Jim Rich (@NYDailyNews) as Editor.

New York Times: promotes Jodi Rudoren (@rudoren) to Associate Managing Editor. She will continue to work on expanding the paper’s global footprint. Jack Nicas (@jacknicas) has been named Technology Reporter, effective in February. He will focus on Apple and other companies in Silicon Valley. Lauren Katzenberg (@Lkatzenberg) is named Editor of the “At War” blog, which is set to relaunch later this year. She begins Feb. 20.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch: hires Brian Feldt (@bfeldt) as a Business Reporter.

Tronc: appoints Jim Kirk (@latimes) as Editor-in-Chief of the Los Angeles Times, replacing Lewis D’Vorkin, who will become Chief Content Officer for the parent company.

Wall Street Journal: Susan Carey has retired.

Washington Post: hires Seung Min Kim (@seungminkim) as White House Correspondent. She will focus on the relationship between Congress and the Trump Administration. Karen Tumultu (@ktumulty) is now Opinion Columnist focusing on politics.

Broadcasting

KUNM-FM: hires May Ortega (@MayVOrtega) as a Public Health Reporter.

MSNBC: appoints Trymaine Lee (@trymainelee) as a Correspondent covering “the role of race, violence, politics and law enforcement in America,” according to a statement from the network. He’s based in New York.

Business and Commerce

Albuquerque Business First: May Ortega has left. Until a replacement boards, direct queries to Managing Editor Christopher Ortiz (@ChrisJOrtiz).

Barron’s: appoints Bob Rose (@bobrose100) as Executive Editor, effective Feb. 14.

Wolters Kluwer: hires Liz Borreli (@lizcelineb) as Associate Editor for Neurology Today and Neurology Now. She replaces Sarah Owens, who left.

Consumer Lifestyle

D CEO: hires Shawn Shinneman (@SDShinneman) as Senior Editor. He will also serve as Editor of D CEO Healthcare, a website that covers healthcare business in North Texas.

Star Magazine: and OK! Magazine hires Crista Lacqua (@crista_lacqua) as an Assistant Fashion and Beauty Editor.

Energy, Environment & Natural Resources

Progressive Farmer: Jim Patrico retires.

Healthcare and Medicine

Pharmaceutical Processing: Meg LaTorre-Snyder has left to become attendee acquisition manager for Interphex. For now, pitches can go to Contributing Editor Mike Botta (@BottaMike).

Politics, Government and Education

Bloomberg Government: Mark Drajem (@bgov) has left to become Press Secretary of the National Resources Defense Council.

Politico: hires Alexandra Manzano (@AliManzano) as Editorial Director for strategy and operations.

Technology and Telecoms

Wired: (@WIRED) has launched a metered paywall for its website. The limit is five stories per month. It also launched three new sections behind the paywall: “Backchannel,” featuring long-form journalism; “Ideas,” featuring “intellectual exploration, provocative writing, and a whole lot of mind grenades”; and “Wired Guides,” featuring “definitive, authoritative guides to the most important subjects in the Wired world.”

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (National)

How to Spend It: Maria Coole (@cooletalking) has been named Assistant Editor. Jackie Daly (@designEDJackie) has also been appointed Assistant Editor.

Sunday Times Culture: Francesca Angelini (@angelinifl) has been appointed Associate Editor.

Sunday Times Sport: Rebecca Myers (@rebeccamyers) has been named Sports Journalist.

News and Media (Regional)

Eastern Daily Press: Donna-Louise Bishop (@donnaloubishop) has been named Senior Reporter.

Evening Standard: Natasha Sporn (@tashalouise6) and Julian Glover (@julian_glover) have been appointed Showbiz Reporter and Associate Editor respectively.

Plymouth Herald: Paul Burton (@PlymouthHerald) has left.

Broadcasting

BBC South East: Tom Pugh (@TomPugh212) has been named Senior Broadcast Journalist.

CNN International: Maya Ninel Robert (@mayaninel) has been appointed Growth Editor.

Free Radio FM (Birmingham): Mitch Rushton (@MitchRushton1) has been named Broadcast Journalist and Breakfast Presenter.

Business and Commerce

Pensions Aspects: PMI News has rebranded its magazine as Pensions Aspects. Chris Eyett (@PMIPensions) is point of contact.

Construction, Real Estate and Manufacturing

Food Manufacture: Rod Addy (@foodmanufacture) has been named Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Absolutely Mama: Katy Gillett (@AbsolutelyMama) has been name Editor.

GQ: Madeleine Wilson (@I_am_Madeleine) has been promoted to Fashion Advertising Director.

NET-A-PORTER.COM: Lucy Grosse (@NETAPORTER) has been appointed Group Beauty Advertising Director across NET-A-PORTER.COM, PORTER and The Edit.

Tatler: Richard Dennan (@richarddennen) has been appointed Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

4 influencer marketing trends to expect in 2023

4 influencer marketing trends to expect in 2023

To no surprise, 2022 was a major period of growth and transformation for influencer marketing. And while this number is expected to continue to rise, there are particular challenges that brands and marketers face in order for their campaigns to be executed...