fbpx

Journalists on the move – Week of August 19th

by | Aug 19, 2019 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Gannett and Gatehouse Media: have struck a deal for a $1.4 billion merger that will create the largest newspaper group in the country. The newly formed company, which will keep the Gannett name, will be home to 263 daily media organizations across 47 states and Guam, including USA Today.

Thomson Reuters: Paritosh Bansal (@paritoshbansal) has been named Finance and Markets Editor. Mark Bendeich (@bramston) has been appointed Europe News Editor.

Times of Northwest Indiana, The: Allie Kirkman (@alliekirkman) has left.

Vox: Terry Nguyen (@terrygtnguyen) has joined as Staff Writer, covering The Goods section.

Wall Street Journal, The: Elizabeth Findell (@efindell) has been appointed Texas Reporter. Ben Kesling (@bkesling) returns to Chicago to cover the Midwest for the title.

Washington Post, The: Gillian Brockell (@gbrockell) is now Lead Writer for Retropolis, the paper’s history blog.

Broadcasting

CNBC: Emma Newburger (@emma_newburger) has been named General Assignment Reporter. Amanda Diaz (@AmandaDiaz) has left.

Business and Commerce

BizTimes Milwaukee: Molly Dill (@bizmolly) has left.

Bloomberg: Jordan Fabian (@Jordanfabian) has been appointed White House Reporter. Morten Buttler (@ButtlerM) has been named Reporter for Bloomberg’s Copenhagen bureau.

Coindesk: Nathan DiCamillo (@coindesk) has been appointed Reporter, covering institutional crypto and enterprise blockchain news.

Financial Times: Brendan Greeley (@bhgreeley) has been appointed US Economics Editor.

Forbes: Leah Rosenbaum (@leah_rosenbaum) was recently appointed Assistant Editor of Healthcare. She covers healthcare and biotechnology.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

IndieWire: Ann Donahue (@anndonahue) has been appointed Executive Editor, TV.

Technology and Telecoms

Markup, The: Julia Angwin (@juliaangwin) has been appointed Editor-in-Chief.

Motherboard: Lauren Gurley (@laurenkgurley) has been named Staff Writer.

Verge, The: Justine Calma (@justcalma) has been appointed Science Reporter, with a focus on environment.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Express: Kat Hopps (@kathopps) has been named Features Writer.

Daily Mirror: Martin Bagot (@MartinBagot) has been appointed Health & Science Editor.

Mirror Online: Rosaleen Fenton (@roooooosaleen) has been named Exclusives Reporter.

News and Media (Regional)

Devon Live: Edd Moore (@edd13moore) has been appointed Deputy Regional Digital Editor.

Evening Standard: Isobel Frodsham (@isobeljourno) has been named Showbiz Reporter.

Maidenhead Advertiser: Grace Witherdean (@gracew_bm) has been appointed Deputy Editor.

Broadcasting

FM 104: Hannah Murphy (@HanElizaa) has been named Reporter.

Business and Commerce

Agri Investor: Binyamin Ali (@Ali_Binyamin) has been appointed Features Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Drapers: Kirsty McGregor (@KirstyMcGregor) has been appointed Editor.

Good Housekeeping: Susanne Norris (@susanne__norris) has been named Consumer Writer.

Stylist: Jenny Tregoning (@jennytregoning) has been appointed Food Editor.

Wallpaper: Tilly Macalister-Smith (@tillymacsmith) has been named Digital Director. Elly Parsons has been appointed Digital Editor. Fiona Mahon (@wallpapermag) has been named Head of Social Media.

Energy, Environment and Natural Resources

Argus Media: David Elward (@davidelward) has joined as Associate Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions
Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

How to enhance your client’s tech business through PR strategies

How to enhance your client’s tech business through PR strategies

Using PR strategies to make business better for a client may be one of the best parts of your job. However, it can be overwhelming depending on what kind of business the client runs and in which industry they operate. Keep reading for suggestions on how to enhance...