Journalists on the move – Week of February 24

by | Feb 24, 2020 | Media Moves

Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Albuquerque Journal: Stephen Hamway (@Shamway1) is now reporting on economic development, health care and tourism in Albuquerque and across the state.

Associated Press: has hired Katrease Stafford (@kat__stafford) to cover how race intersects with politics, criminal justice, government federal policies, climate change, religion, entertainment and sports.

Detroit Press: Ian Thibodeau (@Ian_Thibodeau) has left.

Oklahoman, The: David Dishman (@Dishman5) has been promoted to Business Editor.

Business and Commerce

Bloomberg: Rebecca Baker (@MsRebeccaBaker) has joined Bloomberg Environment as an Editor & Team Leader.

Business Insider: Cadie Thompson (@CadieThompson) will be taking on more responsibility for the newsroom. She will oversee advertising, media and PR desks.

Business Insider: Olivia Oran (@ozoran) has been promoted to Deputy Executive Editor and will oversee healthcare, energy, legal, finance, investing, and markets. She will work closely with Matt Turner on editorial initiatives for their subscription service.

Business Insider: Meredith Mazzilli (@meredithmazz) is now Senior Finance Editor.

Business Insider: Michelle Abrego (@mabrego) has joined as Finance Editor.

Business Insider: Nick Lichtenberg (@nicklich) joins as Senior Editor on the strategy and executive-lifestyle desks. He’ll be overseeing wealth coverage and features.

Dow Jones: Emily Horton (@emilyhorton231) is taking on the role of Professional Services Correspondent for Financial News at Dow Jones.

Wall Street Journal: Eva Dou (@evadou) is leaving the organization.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

BostInno: Rowan Walrath (@rowanwalrath) who currently covers start-ups, research, labour and business, has now added Rhode Island Inno to her beat.

Healthcare and Medicine

Health Data Management: has ceased publication (@HDMmagazine).

Technology and Telecoms

Wired: Sidney Fussell (@sidneyfussell) will be joining Wired to cover big tech, surveillance and Silicon Valley.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Telegraph Travel: Aisling O’Leary (@aol923) has been appointed Editorial Assistant.

News and Media (Regional)

Glamorgan Gem: Ariane Brumwell (@gem_news) has been named Reporter.

Leeds Live: Faye Preston (@fayepreston5) has been appointed Content Editor.

Wales Online: Megan Bisbet (@megskaten) has been named Trending Audience Editor.

Business and Commerce

Intelligent Cash: Lucy Wayment (@lucywayment) has been named Editor.

Construction, Real Estate and Manufacturing

Irish Farmers Journal: Lorcan Allen (@farmersjournal) has been promoted to Agribusiness Editor.

Consumer Lifestyle

Fabulous: Nicola Fahey (@NicolaFahey) has been appointed Acting Assistant Editor (Celebrity).

Harper’s Bazaar: Beki Murray (@BeckiMurray) has been named Beauty Editor across Harper’s Bazaar and Town & Country.

Harrods Magazine: Mollie Hammond (@Harrods) has been appointed Beauty Writer.

Hello!: Laura Sutcliffe (@laurastylesitup) has been appointed Fashion & Beauty Editor.

Refinery29 UK: Alicia Lansom (@alicialansom) has been named Editorial assistant.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Empire: Alex Godfrey (@mrgodfrey) has been named Acting Features Editor.

Geographical: Katie Burton (@GeographicalMag) has been appointed editor of Geographical – the magazine of the Royal Geographical Society.

Healthcare and Medicine

Chemist & Druggist: James Waldron (@JJWaldron) has joined S&P Global Market Intelligence as Healthcare Industry Editor.

 Technology and Telecoms

Freelancer: Lloyd Coombes (@lloydcoombes) is available for commissions. Lloyd covers gaming and technology.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Daily PR Updates

Essential PR industry news, opinion, and analysis delivered to your inbox daily.

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

6 tips for communicating during the coronavirus pandemic

6 tips for communicating during the coronavirus pandemic

For brands, deciding how and when to communicate during the current coronavirus pandemic is fraught with difficulty. With the outbreak in full swing, we gathered six recent observations about the messages and communications channels brands might consider using (or...

How Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop rebuilt its reputation after crisis

How Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop rebuilt its reputation after crisis

Founded by actress Gwyneth Paltrow in 2008, wellness and lifestyle brand Goop has been hit by its fair share of criticism over the years. From allegations of privilege to pseudoscientific language, debate over the brand’s product claims has been more or less non-stop;...