Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @MEDIAlertUSA and @MEDIAlertCANADA

News and Media

BuzzFeed News: hires Hamed Aleaziz (@Haleaziz) as Immigration Reporter.

New York Times: hires Julian Barnes (@julianbarnes) as a D.C. based reporter covering U.S. intelligence agencies.

San Francisco Chronicle: Benny Evangelista (@chroniclebenny) has left.

Washington Post: hires Jeanne Whalen (@JeanneWhalen) as a Global Business Reporter.

Broadcasting

ABC News: Brian Ross and Rhonda Schwartz have left (@ABC).

Business and Commerce

New Haven Biz: hires Michael Bingham (@NewHavenBiz) as Editor-in-Chief.

North Bay Business Journal: hires Cheryl Sarfaty (@NBBJ) as a Staff Reporter covering healthcare, tourism, education and business insurance.

Uzabase: a Japanese publisher, agrees to acquire Quartz (@qz) from Atlantic Media. Quartz Publisher Jay Lauf and Editor-in-Chief Kevin J. Delaney will become Quartz’s co-CEOs. Quartz will manage U.S. operations of NewsPicks, Uzabase’s business news app.

Healthcare and Medicine

EnsembleIQ: (@EnsembleIQ) acquires Lebhar-Friedman, publisher of Drug Store News, Convenience Store Age and Hardware + Building Supply Dealer. Other EnsembleIQ properties include the Canadian publications Medical Post and Pharmacy Practice+Business.

Inside Washington Publishers: launches Inside Drug Pricing, a subscription newsletter for lobbyists and government affairs executives with an interest in that topic. The Editor is Nicholas Florko (@NicholasFlorko).

Politics, Government and Education

Atlantic, The: hires Todd Purdum as a Staff Writer and California Correspondent. He will cover politics and culture from the magazine’s new L.A. bureau (@TheAtlantic).

Politico: Alex Panetta (@Alex_Panetta) joins as Editor of Politico Pro Canada, a subscription publication covering Canadian politics that’s set to launch this fall.

UK

Follow us on Twitter: @UKMEDIAlert

News and Media (Regional)

GetSurrey: Joshua Smith (@joshua_smith1) has left.

Northamptonshire Telegraph: Neil Burkett (@BurkettNeilNT) has been appointed Deputy Editor.

Broadcasting

BBC Radio 1: Mel Lewis (@melisonfire) has been named Producer.

BBC Radio 1Xtra: Jade Style (@1Xtra) has been appointed Producer.

Bloomberg News: Angelina Rascouet (@arascouet) has been named Reporter.

Business and Commerce

Business Insider UK: Ben Gartside (@bengartside) has been appointed Political Reporter.

Which? Money: Michael Trudeau (@miketrudeau) has left to freelance.

Consumer Lifestyle

Glass Magazine: Lily Rimmer (@glassmagazine) has been named Managing Editor.

Harvey Nichols Magazine: Laura Smith (@harveynichols) has been named Editorial Administrator.

Pink News: Sofia Lotto Persio (@pinknews) has been named Senior News Reporter.

Stylist: Helen Atkin (@StylistMagazine) has been appointed Fashion Assistant.

Which?: Harry Rose (@WhichUK) has been named Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

5 ways business communicators can use technology to their advantage

Staying current with the latest business trends available is not merely helpful—it’s essential to the longevity of your business. Only 12 percent of Fortune 500 companies operating in 1955 survived to the year 2016. You can be sure that the ones that thrived were...