Here you have it! The most notable journalist and media industry moves of the past week.

USA AND CANADA

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media

Desert Sun, The: hires Julie Makinen (@Julie_Makinen) as Executive Editor.

Financial Times: has expanded its technology coverage, including a new online tech section. Malcolm Moore (@MalcolmMoore) will lead coverage. Richard Waters (@RichardWaters) will lead Silicon Valley coverage. Tim Bradshaw (@tim) will become a Global Technology Correspondent in London. He’s currently based in California.

McClatchy: hires Ryan Tuck (@rctuck1224) as Product Manager for news strategy, effective in October. His responsibilities at Bloomberg include state and international tax coverage.

New York Times: hires Kirsten Danis (@kirstendanis) as Deputy Editor for Investigations in Metro. Kimiko de Freytas-Tamura is promoted to East Africa Bureau Chief in Nairobi, Kenya.

Salem Reporter: (https://www.salemreporter.com) launches as a website covering news in Salem, Ore., including state government. Les Zaitz (@salemreporter) leads the editorial team.

San Francisco Chronicle: hires Tal Kopan (@TalKopan) as Washington Correspondent.

Thomson Reuters Foundation: has launched Openly (http://www.openlynews.com), a global website covering issues involving LGBT people. Topics will include politics, health, and business. Hugo Greenhalgh (@hugo_greenhalgh) will oversee content.

Wall Street Journal: appoints Jon Sindreu (@jonsindreu) as a Writer for “Heard on the Street” focusing on markets and economics.

Broadcasting

CNN: hires Fredreka Schouten (@fschouten) as a Reporter covering money and politics.

Business and Commerce

Block, The: hires Frank Chaparro (@fintechfrank) as a Senior Correspondent. The site covers crypto currency and block chain technology.

Yahoo Finance: hires Brian Sozzi (@BrianSozzi) as an Editor overseeing coverage of equity markets and industries.

Consumer Lifestyle

Consumer Reports: promotes Christopher Kirkpatrick (@ConsumerReports) to Director of Special Investigations and Enterprise.

Culture, Entertainment and the Arts

Deadline: hires Geoff Boucher (@geoffboucher) as Genre Editor, focusing on “Comic-Con culture.”

Healthcare and Medicine

Kaiser Health News: hires Damon Darlin (@darlin) as Executive Editor.

Sports and Leisure

Runner’s World and Bicycling: (@runnersworld) will move to new offices in a former bowling alley in downtown Easton, Pa., effective in Spring 2019. Staffers are currently working from temporary offices in Upper Saucon Township after Hearst Magazines closed the former Rodale headquarters in Emmaus, Pa. The future location is in the former Heritage Lanes building at 132 S. Third St., Easton, PA 18042.

Technology and Telecoms

Markup, The: will launch in early 2019 as a non-profit investigative news service focusing on technology and its social impact. Julia Angwin (@JuliaAngwin) will serve as Editor-in-Chief.

UK

Follow us on Twitter @Press_Moves

News and Media (National)

Daily Express: Jess Sheldon (@jessmsheldon) has been named Lifestyle Reporter.

Financial Times: Aliya Ram (@aliya_ram) has been named Technology Reporter. Lauren Fedor (@LaurenFedor) has been appointed Creative Producer.

Freelancer: Maria Loizouu (@marialoizouu) is available for fashion related commissions.

Guardian, The: Bethan McKernan (@mck_beth) has been named Turkey & Middle Correspondent.

Independent, The: Maya Oppenheim (@mayaoppenheim) has been appointed Women’s Correspondent.

Sunday Times, The: Rosamund Urwin (@rosamundurwin) has been appointed Reporter, now covering general news, with a focus on technology and gender issues.

Telegraph Arts & Entertainment: Serena Davies (@serenadavies) has been named Director of Culture & Events.

Times, The: Harriet Marsden (@harriet1marsden) has been appointed Journalist/Sub.

Broadcasting

Sky News: Stephen Murphy (@smurphytv) has been named Ireland Correspondent.

Consumer Lifestyle

Essential Kitchen Bathroom Bedroom, The: Hugh Metcalf (@hughmetcalf) has been named Deputy Editor.

New!: Gillian Scholes (@gillianvscholes) has left to freelance.

Woman & Home: Sarah Cooper-White (@scooper_white) and Charley Williams-Howitt (@womanandhome) have been appointed Group Beauty Directors.

Technology and Telecoms

Electrical Times: Lisa Peake (@ElectricalTimes) has been appointed Editor.

Voltimum: Rodney Jack (@voltimumuk) has been named Editor.

 

Take control of your profile and let us update your details so that communications professionals are able to reach you with relevant news and content, or send your comments or suggestions to researchrequests@agilitypr.com.

Want more like this?

Subscribe to get daily or weekly PR News updates from Bulldog Reporter

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions

Agility PR Solutions provides powerful, yet easy to use media database, monitoring, and analytics solutions for tomorrow’s communicators. Since 2003, clients have trusted our tools and services to help them identify and connect with influencers, capture coverage, and measure impact of everything they do. Whether we do it for you or help you do it yourself, our team of media experts make it easy to monitor and measure traditional, broadcast, social and online coverage.

RECENT ARTICLES

PR and marketing tips and best practices for welcome emails

Whether it be video, music, or text, a ton of content is posted online every single day. Companies give their consumers more content in one day than they can possibly consume in a lifetime. If you’re in PR, this means it can be hard for you to separate yourself from...

3 actionable ways to build consumer trust

If your consumers to trust you, half the battle for your business will already be won. This is because it’s easier to build a loyal following of returning customers when they believe in you. What’s more, you’ll find more and more new customers coming your way thanks...